Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TSCD475

Release Date:  18 September 2006

Label:  Topic

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016272475021

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    Waterson:Carthy was created from the dynamic fusion of two generations, Norma Waterson & Martin Carthy with their daughter Eliza Carthy. The resulting album, Waterson:Carthy was a groundbreaking release which launched the careers of Eliza and the group itself, both of whom have gone on to be among the biggest stars in the English folk firmament.

    Since the original release of this album in 1994, awards and honours have showered down on the three amazing musicians. Martin and Norma have individually been awarded M.B.E.s for services to folk music. Eliza has been nominated twice and Norma once for the Mercury Music Prize. Between them they have also won nine awards on the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards with each individually winning the Best Singer Award (Martin actually winning it twice) and getting Best Group Award in the very first ceremony in the year 2000.

    That groundbreaking first album, produced by Topic chief Tony Engle, set the standard for what was to come and is now available at mid-price.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bold Doherty
      • 2. The Light Dragoon
      • 3. Ye Mariners All
      • 4. Rags And Tatters/An Moinfeuir
      • 5. With Kitty I'll Go
      • 6. The Grey Cock
      • 7. When First I Came To Caledonia
      • 8. Orange In Bloom (The Sherbone Waltz)
      • 9. The Slave's Lament/Farewell To A Dark Haired Friend
      • 10. John Hamilton
      • 11. Sleep On Beloved
      • 12. Midnight On The Water