It Was A Short Summer, Charlie Brown

Vince Guaraldi

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LM24SS02

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  19 July 2024

Label:  Wienerworld

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  760137142416

Genres:  Soundtracks  

  • Description

    Lee Mendelson Film Productions (LMFP) is thrilled to announce the release - for the first time ever - from recently rediscovered tapes - the complete Vince Guaraldi soundtrack to "It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown," the timeless 6th animated Peanutsr special, from writer and creator Charles Schulz, director Bill Melendez and producers Melendez and Lee Mendelson. Originally the special aired in September 27, 1969 on CBS-TV.

    The album includes the original recordings that comprise the cues from the Special across twenty-six tracks, plus another 6 alternative tracks that have never been released or heard before.

    Guaraldi lovingly created the soundtrack for the summer camp adventure where Charlie Brown and his gang face off against the girls camp lead by Peppermint Patty. The large jazz combo album also includes the best rendition of Guaraldi classic, "Love Will Come (Nova Bossa)" as well as the first use of additional percussion in Victor Feldman.

    The recording features Guaraldi (piano), Monty Budwig (double bass), Jack Sperling (drums), Conti and Pete Candoli (trumpet), Frank Rosolino (trombone), Victor Feldman (percussion), Herb Ellis (guitar), Willian Hood and Peter Christlieb (woodwind), and John Scott Trotter as the orchestra leader. The soundtrack was produced by Sean and Jason Mendelson and restored and re-mastered by Vinson Hudson.

    The album will be available on CD, vinyl and digital. The CD has an 8-page insert. Both the CD and LP will have liner notes that give a track-by-track analysis by Derrick Bang (author of "Vince Guaraldi at the Piano") and notes from Sean and Jason Mendelson, sons of Peanutsr producer Lee Mendelson. The album packaging also includes images from the special and images of historical documents from the found tapes.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Charlie Brown Theme
      • 2. Linus and Lucy
      • 3. It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown
      • 4. Oh Good Grief
      • 5. You're In Love, Charlie Brown
      • 6. Schroeder
      • 7. Bus Blues / Bus Blues (Reprise)
      • 8. It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown (Reprise)
      • 9. Frieda (With the Naturally Curly Hair)
      • 10. Oh Good Grief (Reprise)
      • 11. Come and Get It / Hash / Hash with Horn / AM Break / Tah Dah
      • 12. Bon Voyage
      • 13. Peppermint Patty
      • 14. Love Will come (Nova Bossa)
      • 15. He's Your Dog, Charlie Brown
      • 16. Pebble Beach
      • 17. You're In Love, Charlie Brown (Reprise)
      • 18. He's Your Dog, Charlie Brown (Reprise)
      • 19. Masked Marvel
      • 20. Air Music
      • 21. Masked Marvel (Reprise) / Masked Marvel (2nd Reprise)
      • 22. You're In Love, Charlie Brown (2nd Reprise)
      • 23. Linus and Lucy (Reprise)
      • 24. Oh, Good Grief! (2nd Reprise)
      • 25. Charlie Brown Theme (Reprise)
      • 26. It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown (2nd Reprise)
      • 27. Linus and Lucy (Alternate)
      • 28. Working on "It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown"
      • 29. Bus Blues (Alternate)
      • 30. Pebble Beach (Alternate)
      • 31. Masked Marvel (Alternate)
      • 32. Linus and Lucy (Reprise Alternate)