Saints' Paradise: Trombone Shout Bands From The United House Of Prayer

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40117

Release Date:  20 July 1999

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074011720

Genres:  Religious  Gospel  

  • Description

    Beyond jazz, blues, or gospel as most know it, this is the powerful trombone shout band music of the legendary United House of Prayer for All People. While much public attention is lavished on brass band jazz of New Orleans, these remarkable sacred shout bands of the Eastern seaboard have remained largely unheard except inside the church built by the late Bishop C.M. "Daddy" Grace. In this first-ever anthology, the top House of Prayer shout bands perform live—showing how a choir of trombone "voices" brings congregations to "one accord" of ecstasy with the Spirit.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. When The Saints Go Marching In - Madison's Lively Stones
      • 2. It's Time To Make A Change - Madison's Lively Stones
      • 3. Never Going To Let You Go - Madison's Lively Stones
      • 4. He Touched me - McCollough Sons Of Thunder
      • 5. One Day At A Time - McCollough Sons Of Thunder
      • 6. Sweet! - McCollough Sons Of Thunder
      • 7. His Eye Is On The Sparrow - McCollough Sons Of Thunder
      • 8. Won't It Be Sad? - Happyland Band
      • 9. America The Beautiful - Happyland Band
      • 10. Just A Closer Walk With Thee - Happyland Band
      • 11. Lord, Fix Me - Madison Prayer Band
      • 12. Shouting Time - Madison Prayer Band
      • 13. Lord, I'm Troubled About My Soul - Clouds Of Heaven
      • 14. Spiritual Conversation - Clouds Of Heaven
      • 15. Keep Oil In Your Vessels - Clouds Of Heaven
      • 16. Ease My Troubled Mind - Clouds Of Heaven
      • 17. Revelation And Improvisation - Kings Of Harmony
      • 18. Oh, Happy Day - Kings Of Harmony
      • 19. When The Saints Go Marching In - Kings Of Harmony