Rhythms Of Life, Songs Of Wisdom: Akan Music From Ghana

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40463

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  23 January 1996

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074046326

Genres:  World Music  

  • Description

    This recording leaves the listener breathless and astounded by the musical richness of this small area of Africa. In these performances from remote areas of central Ghana, the collective musical genius of everyday farmers, fisher-folk, traders, and civil servants bursts forth. Their singing and chanting moves through a colorful palette of instruments including water drums, rectangular frame drums, side-blown horns, and brass bands. Clear, penetrating sounds of metal instruments offset by complex drumming patterns are framed by haunting vocals. Listeners are immersed in a kaleidoscope of sound. Thirteen tracks and a 28-page booklet including extensive notes and photos. This is the only commercially available recording of Akan music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Akosua Tuntum - Assin Area
      • 2. Ompeh - Efutu Area
      • 3. Akosua Tuntum - Denkyira area
      • 4. Talking Drum - Denkyira area
      • 5. Dansuomu - Denkyira area
      • 6. Fontomfrom
      • 7. Mmensoun
      • 8. Adzewa
      • 9. Brass Band
      • 10. Vocal Band
      • 11. Apateampa
      • 12. Osode
      • 13. Moses