20 Years Of Phonica

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 3CD


Release Date:  01 December 2023

Label:  Phonica Records / Phonica

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  3

Barcode:  197190338072

Genres:  Dance  House  

  • Description

    Phonica Records opened its doors in 2003 amidst a climate of closing record stores and splintering genres in electronic music. Founded by Simon Rigg, Tom Relleen and Heidi Van Den Amstel with backing from The Vinyl Factory, Phonica's goal was to be a destination for all kinds of dance and electronic music and to be a welcoming, knowledgeable hub, open to all. In 2007, Phonica's eponymous record label launched, initially to put out records by its enthusiastic DJ and producer staff members such as Hector, Anthea and Will Saul. It also quickly became a place to introduce new artists - putting out early releases on by now well-known producers such as Peggy Gou, Paul Woolford and Midland - as well as harnessing the talents of well-respected legends like Four Tet and Roman Flugel. Fast-forward to 2023 and the label has gone from strength to strength, spawning a number of sub-labels; Phonica White, Phonica Records Special Editions, Karakul and the recently launched Phonica AM, each with its own musical flavour and direction. To celebrate the 20th anniversary of Phonica's launch, we asked our favourite producers and friends to give us exclusive tracks for a brand new compilation, our second following 2013's well-received 'Ten Years Of Phonica'. The result is '20 Years Of Phonica', featuring 18 brand new, previously unreleased tracks from both established names and up and coming artists across the genres Phonica is known for. The CD also includes the best tracks from the Phonica labels over the last decade, spread over 2 CDs. Daniel Avery kicks off the compilation. 'Bell' finds the Phantasy and Mute artist at his most contemplative and melodic; it's streamlined stylings reminiscent of UK Artificial Intelligence 90s techno and Kompakt's golden era. Shop regular and ever-rising star Nyra comes through with the pumping club banger 'Broken Needs', channelling early 90's Hacienda sounds and hazy Ibiza memories. Up next, a collaboration from Paramida & E-Talking. Paramida is the well-respected head of the Love on the Rocks label whilst E-Talking is the pseudonym of Emmanuel Corre, one half of Nummer who have given us stunning releases over the year on their own label, AD93 and Going Good. 'Read My Lips' strikes the perfect balance of old-school warehouse acid and early morning Berlin dance floors. One of our favourite producers to explode onto the scene in the last few years, Gene On Earth turns in some solid energy in the form of 'Club Jacket'. Sounding truly contemporary and classic at the same time, the track recalls both Jeremy Sylvester and MK. Next up, the Amsterdam-based duo Dam Swindle bring the party with the epic 'Allright (Just a Tribute)' a no nonsense feel good slice of club magic. One of the duo's most effective productions: DJ bag-ready, perfectly balanced house music. With 12"s on Slow Life, Small Hours, Voyage, Oscillat Music, & In Dust We Trust nothing is stopping L.A. born, Berlin-based, DJ and producer Huerta. With his 'Hit the Bit' tr

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bell
      • 2. Read My Lips
      • 3. Broken Needs
      • 4. Club Jacket
      • 5. Allright (Just A Tribute)
      • 6. Hit The Bit
      • 7. Slam
      • 8. A Mezzonotte
      • 9. Subterranean
      • 10. Uncle G
      • 11. On My Mind (Freak Mix)
      • 12. Willbush
      • 13. Midi Trail

      Disc 2

      • 1. Six O Six
      • 2. Before We Leave (Gerd Janson Remix)
      • 3. Get Your Body Movin’
      • 4. Easy Tiger
      • 5. FindAWay2Day
      • 6. Faux Polynesia
      • 7. For Joanie
      • 8. Song for Mr Lewis (Edit)
      • 9. Still Hope (Waajeed’s Detroit Hardcore Dub)
      • 10. The Hurt Inside
      • 11. SMBC
      • 12. XME

      Disc 3

      • 1. Black Acid
      • 2. Zip
      • 3. Luna (Shanti Celeste Remix)
      • 4. Energy Breakthrough (Adam Pits’ Lightspeed Mix)
      • 5. Pink Television
      • 6. Train Dance
      • 7. Song About A Dream
      • 8. Truth (Main Street mix)
      • 9. Witch House
      • 10. Love To The End (Sunset Short Edit)
      • 11. Obsession
      • 12. Shinkansen
      • 13. Baixa Saxophone