J Jazz Volume 3: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan (Lp)

Various Arists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 3LP

Cat No: BBE652CLP

Format Details: Lp

Release Date:  26 February 2021

Label:  Bbe Music / Barely Breaking Even

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  3

Barcode:  195497352142

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    BBE Music presents J Jazz volume 3, the latest in its definitive compilation series exploring the finest modern jazz from Japan. Since the first volume in February 2018, the J Jazz compilation series has showcased some of the most creative, inspired and sought-after jazz recorded in Japan during a golden period spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. Illustrating the richness and versatility of the composers and musicians on this collection, the music spans a wide yet coherent range of styles: samba, funk fusion, modal, spiritual, post-bop and bossa all combine to present an aural portrait of a jazz scene that was constantly moving and shifting its multiple musical centres of gravity. Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery studio in London, many of the tracks featured are reissued for the first time, including mega-rare private press cuts from the Yasuhiro Kohno Trio, Masaru Imada Trio, and Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet. There's heavy post modal bop by J Jazz legends Kohsuke Mine and Koichi Matsukaze; samba heat from Tatsuya Nakamura, Hideo Shiraki and Seiichi Nakamura; and funky dance floor energy by Hiroshi Murakami, Ryojiro Furusawa Quartet and Shigeharu Mukai. Selected albums from which the tracks are drawn will be reissued in full as part of the acclaimed BBE Music J Jazz Masterclass Series. Released as a deluxe, heavyweight x3 vinyl set in a gatefold sleeve with obi strip and insert, the collection comes with extensive artist biographies and track information. J Jazz volume 3 is also available in a x2 CD set with three bonus tracks, and selected tracks are available across digital platforms for download and streaming. J Jazz is conceived, compiled and annotated by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden for BBE Music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Song Of Island
      • 2. Cumulonimbus

      Side 2

      • 1. Morning Tide
      • 2. Black Nile

      Disc 2

      Side 1

      • 1. Song for Hope
      • 2. Honey Sanba
      • 3. Kirisame

      Side 2

      • 1. Kemo Sabe
      • 2. Phoebus
      • 3. Planets

      Disc 3

      Side 1

      • 1. ¼ Samba II

      Side 2

      • 1. Acoustic Chicken
      • 2. Cumorah