Watusi (Deluxe Green/Orange LP + CD)

The Wedding Present

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 3LP

Cat No: UMCLP084

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Format Details: Deluxe Green/Orange LP + CD

Release Date:  26 April 2024

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  3

Barcode:  805520240840

Genres:  Rock  Indie  

  • Description

    The fourth album from the legendary Leeds-based indie institution The Wedding Present - For this 30th anniversary edition the original album is augmented by a second LP of contemporary non-album tracks and alternative versions - Each LP is pressed onto high quality 180g coloured vinyl (Green Vinyl / Orange Vinyl) and is presented in a gatefold sleeve - Also included is a CD containing all 23 tracks from across the 2LPs. Originally released on Island Records in September 1994, it was the first album the group had made for the label and has long been a fan favourite.

    For many, The Wedding Present are the very epitome of indie. Formed in 1985, the group rose to prominence as part of the so-called C86 scene (a free NME cassette that showcased new bands of the era), with their fast-paced jangle-pop and intelligent lyrics by founder and only band constant David Gedge.

    Signing to Island Records, the group - at this point Gedge, guitarist Paul Dorrington, bassist Darren Belk and drummer Simon Smith - went to Seattle to record with producer/engineer Steve Fisk, known then for his work with the fabled Sub-Pop label. As a result, Watusi is both razor sharp and slyly commercial, as typified by its singles, the poptastic Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah and the Monkees' ramalama of It's A Gas. There is much to enjoy beyond – especially the tender confessional Big Rat and the reflective garden party drama Gazebo. Both underline John Peel's comment that Gedge had written "some of the best love songs of the rock'n'roll era."

    No other Wedding Present album comprises such an eclectic array of material, thoughtfully arranged and consistently strong. The ghostly heartache waltz of 'Spangle', the tautly groovy 'Let Him Have It', 'Catwoman's' Velvet Underground zone-out, the surf strains of 'Hot Pants'... all would demand inclusion on a Wedding Present best-of. Most captivating of all was 'Click Click', a hypnotic duet of sexual compulsion...

    The band will be playing all 12 tracks from Watusi on their May 2024 tour, along with a large smattering of their other landmark works.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. So Long, Baby
      • 2. Click Click
      • 3. Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah
      • 4. Let Him Have It
      • 5. Gazebo
      • 6. Shake It

      Side 2

      • 1. Spangle
      • 2. It's A Gas
      • 3. Swimming Polls, Movie Stars
      • 4. Big Rat
      • 5. Catwoman
      • 6. Hot Pants

      Disc 2

      Side 1

      • 1. Le Bikini
      • 2. Flame On
      • 3. Him Or Me (What’s It Gonna Be?)
      • 4. Jumper Clown
      • 5. It’s A Gas (Acoustic Version)
      • 6. Bubbles

      Side 2

      • 1. Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah (Alternate Version)
      • 2. Spangle (Alternate Version)
      • 3. Gazebo (Alternate Version)
      • 4. So Long, Baby (Alternate Version)
      • 5. It’s A Gas (Single Version)

      Disc 3

      Side 1

      • 1. So Long, Baby
      • 2. Click Click
      • 3. Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah
      • 4. Let Him Have It
      • 5. Gazebo
      • 6. Shake It
      • 7. Spangle
      • 8. It's A Gas
      • 9. Swimming Polls, Movie Stars
      • 10. Big Rat
      • 11. Catwoman
      • 12. Hot Pants
      • 13. Le Bikini
      • 14. Flame On
      • 15. Him Or Me (What’s It Gonna Be?)
      • 16. Jumper Clown
      • 17. It’s A Gas (Acoustic Version)
      • 18. Bubbles
      • 19. Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah (Alternate Version)
      • 20. Spangle (Alternate Version)
      • 21. Gazebo (Alternate Version)
      • 22. So Long, Baby (Alternate Version)
      • 23. It’s A Gas (Single Version)