The New Lost City Ramblers With Cousin Emmy

The New Lost City Ramblers with Cousin Emmy

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: FW31015LP

Release Date:  01 September 2023

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093073101514

Genres:  Folk  Americana  

  • Description

    During the folk music revival of the 1950s and '60s, the old-time string band New Lost City Ramblers rekindled traditions of southern mountain music, introducing them to wider audiences. Here John Cohen, Mike Seeger, and Tracy Schwartz provide backing for Cousin Emmy, the skilled banjo player, fiddler, and singer, whose legacy as a country music pioneer is cemented in the memories of those who heard her animated performances onstage and on the radio. This album contains some of her only recorded material, including several of her own compositions along with selections of old-time and bluegrass repertoire.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Old Tim Brooks
      • 2. A Home in Old Kentucky
      • 3. I'm Going 'Cross the Sea
      • 4. Pretty Little Miss Out in the Garden
      • 5. Little Joe
      • 6. Ruby, Are You Mad at Your Man?
      • 7. Dance All Night with a Bottle in Your Hand
      • 8. Lost John

      Side 2

      • 1. Bowling Green
      • 2. Cat's Got the Measles
      • 3. Mother's Grave
      • 4. Chilly Scenes of Winter
      • 5. Graveyard
      • 6. Johnny Booker
      • 7. Scat Tom Kitty Puss
      • 8. Shortening Bread