Lloyd Webber (W): Piano Music, Chamber Music And Songs

The Nash Ensemble

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA67008

Release Date:  01 August 1998

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571170084

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    William Lloyd Webber was the father of two famous sons: composer Sir Andrew and cellist Julian. However, he was also a distinguished composer in his own right and wrote much attractive music. He may have written more than he did but he spent much of his life as an administrator, most famously as the Director of The London School of Music. This CD assembles a selection of chamber pieces and songs carefully chosen by his son Julian and recorded by The Nash Ensemble as part of their ongoing series of recordings of British music for Hyperion. The eight songs are magically sung by John Mark Ainsley to the piano of Ian Brown.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Three Spring Miniatures For Piano: Gossamer
      • 2. Three Spring Miniatures For Piano: Willow Song
      • 3. Three Spring Miniatures For Piano: Tree Tops
      • 4. A Song For The Morning For Piano
      • 5. Country Impressions: Mulberry Cottage For Flute And Piano
      • 6. Sonatina For Flute And Piano: Allegretto piacevole
      • 7. Sonatina For Flute And Piano: Larghetto - Presto giocoso
      • 8. The Gardens At Eastwell - A Late Summer Impression
      • 9. Air And Variations For Clarinet And Piano
      • 10. Frensham Pond - Aquarelle
      • 11. Fantasy Trio For Violin, Cello And Piano
      • 12. Over The Bridge
      • 13. How Do I Love Thee?
      • 14. To The Wicklow Hills
      • 15. The Call Of The Morning
      • 16. The Forest Of Wild Thyme
      • 17. Sun-Gold
      • 18. Love, Like A Drop Of Dew
      • 19. I Looked Out Into The Morning