Remembering Mike Daniels

The Mike Daniels Delta Jazzmen & Big Band

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LACD356

Format Details:

Release Date:  01 December 2017

Label:  Lake

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5017116535628

Genres:  Jazz  Jazz  

  • Description

    British Trad Jazz was a mixture of the Jazz of the Classic period of the 1920s, Contemporary New Orleans of the late 1940s and the Dixieland/Chicago style.

    To court popularity very few bands stuck rigidly to one style. Mike Daniels' Delta Jazzmen was one of the exceptions. Mike Daniels formed the band in 1948 and soon established it to specialize in the Classic Jazz style typified by King Oliver, Jelly Roll Morton and others. The band made very few records and never turned professional. As a result of this it achieved almost cult-like status.
    Mike Daniels liked the idea of extending the voicings of the front line and so formed a Vintage style big band and two tracks from the big band's only LP appear here. The rest of the tracks come from an EP recorded for VJM records and some well recorded previously unissued sessions. This is an excellent showcase for this superb band.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. High Life
      • 2. Blues With A Feeling
      • 3. Stevedore Stomp
      • 4. You're Driving Me Crazy
      • 5. Mabel's Dream
      • 6. I'm Coming Virginia
      • 7. West End Blues
      • 8. Freeze 'n' Melt
      • 9. Misty Morning
      • 10. I'm In The Market For You
      • 11. Busy Saying Nothing
      • 12. Ponchartrain Blues
      • 13. You Made Me Love You
      • 14. Froggie Moore
      • 15. Shreveport Stomp
      • 16. Sweet Mama
      • 17. Louisiana
      • 18. The Chant
      • 19. Aunt Hagar's Children
      • 20. East St. Louis Toodle-oo
      • 21. What Do You Want Me To Do?
      • 22. I'd Love It