The Rosehill Concert

The Lake Records All-Star Jazz Band

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: LACD270
Only 1 left!

Release Date:  04 May 2009

Label:  Lake

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5017116527029

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    Showcase band album to promote 25 years of Lake Records.

    The Lake Records All Star Band was formed in 1991 as a showcase for the fledgling Jazz label.

    25 years on this double CD for the price of one concert recording is its first official release under its own name and is released to promote the celebrations of 25 years of Lake Records.

    Over the years it has appeared at most of the significant Traditional style Jazz festivals and those who have appeared with the band include some of the Jazz scene's legends including trumpeters Pat Halcox, Alan Elsdon, and Sonny Morris; reed players Cy Laurie, Terry Lightfoot, Ian Wheeler and Sammy Rimmington, and trombonists Roy Williams, Campbell Burnap and Geoff Cole.

    The current line-up includes John Hallam (recently recording with Alan Barnes), Gordon Whitworth (ex-Monty Sunshine band) and Ian Bateman (from Acker Bilk's band).

    On piano is Jeff Barnhart the American musician who is immensely popular with UK festival audiences.

    The featured guest is also from the US, Duke Heitger.

    Duke is one of the finest of the younger generation of Jazz trumpet players.

    Stylistically the band is based on the Eddie Condon Jam Sessions of the 1930s/40s.

    The recording has plenty of atmosphere and quality music.