Queens Of Song

The King Sisters

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASCD348

Email me when this is available

Format Details:

Release Date:  01 January 1999

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988034820

Genres:  Easy Listening  

  • Description

    The six King sisters (only four of which sang together at any one time) In chronological order they were Maxine, Louise, Alyce, Donna, Yvonne and Marilyn, are one of the less famous sister groups of their era, despite having a very long career. While the Andrews sisters (for example) had an easily identifiable, unique sound, the King sisters did not - their music was fairly typical of the era, so perhaps that is why their music has almost been forgotton. It should not be, because they were brilliant. The recordings selected for this excellent CD are mostly from the early 1940's, although they started recording in the mid-thirties and continued until the late fifties. Despite not having a truly unique sound, the ladies always stamped their own identity on each song they recorded. Most of the songs here will be well known to fans of the Great American Songbook, and these versions make very enjoyable listening.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Memories Of You
      • 2. It's Easy To Remember
      • 3. When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano
      • 4. I May Be Wrong
      • 5. Pagan Love Song
      • 6. Miss Otis Regrets
      • 7. I Don't Know Why
      • 8. Cielito Linda
      • 9. Basin Street Blues
      • 10. The Day You Came Along
      • 11. An Old Guitar And An Old Refain
      • 12. Nice Work If You Can Get It
      • 13. Why Should I Cry Over You
      • 14. You Made Me Love You
      • 15. St. Louis Blues
      • 16. I've Had My Moments
      • 17. Stars Fell On Alabama
      • 18. East Of The Sun
      • 19. By The River Sainte Marie
      • 20. All Of Me
      • 21. Love Is The Thing
      • 22. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
      • 23. Stomping At The Savoy