Expecting To Fly

The Bluetones

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: 3RANGE51

Release Date:  09 September 2016

Label:  3 Loop Music / Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5013929355149

Genres:  Indie  

  • Description

    On 12th February 1996, The Bluetones released their debut album, 'Expecting To Fly'.

    It knocked Oasis' 'What's The Story Morning Glory' off the top of the charts in the week the Mancunians scooped an armful of BRIT Awards and signalled the start of a hugely successful career for The Bluetones.

    The Number 1, platinum album is now re-issued with a second disc of previously unreleased material including demos, live and session tracks.

    The demos are from the Proper Demo Thing cassette that got the band signed to A&M Records recently found in drummer Ed's archives.

    There is the complete concert of the band playing at Leeds Town And Country Club as part of the BBC Sound City in April 1996.

    A joyous gig with the band still riding high on the recent successes of the album and their No. 2 hit single, 'Slight Return', plus an acoustic version of 'Bluetonic' performed on Lauren Laverne's BBC 6Music show in July 2015, shortly before their comeback gigs.

    Also included are each band members favourite b-side from the era plus the stand-alone single 'Are You Blue Or Are You Blind?', the band's first hit single to make this a fitting package to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the album.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Talking to Clarry
      • 2. Bluetonic
      • 3. Cut Some Rug
      • 4. Things Change
      • 5. The Fountainhead
      • 6. Carnt Be Trusted
      • 7. Slight Return
      • 8. Putting Out Fires
      • 9. Vampire
      • 10. A Parting Gesture
      • 11. Time and Again
      • 12. Are You Blue Or Are You Blind
      • 13. Nifkin's Bridge (Mark' Choice)
      • 14. String Along (Ed's Choice)
      • 15. Castle Rock (Adam's Choice)
      • 16. Nae Hair On't (Scott' Choice)

      Disc 2

      • 1. Bluetonic (Demo)*
      • 2. Carnt Be Trusted (Demo)*
      • 3. Slight Return (Demo)*
      • 4. Time and Again (Demo)*
      • 5. Talking to Clarry (Live)*
      • 6. Bluetonic (Live)*
      • 7. Don't Stand Me Down (Live)*
      • 8. Slight Return (Live)*
      • 9. Putting Out Fires (Live)*
      • 10. Castle Rock (Live)*
      • 11. Cut Some Rug (Live)*
      • 12. Things Change (Live)*
      • 13. Are You Blue Or Are You Blind (Live)*
      • 14. Vampire (Live)*
      • 15. The Devil Behind My Smile (Live)*
      • 16. Carnt Be Trusted (Live)*
      • 17. Time and Again (Live)*
      • 18. Bluetonic