Road Movies

The Albion Band

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TSCD523

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  18 June 2007

Label:  Topic

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  714822952323

Genres:  Folk  Folk-Rock  

  • Description

    Energy, Experience, Youth, Tradition – The Albion Band is the foremost contemporary folk group in England with a glorious history stretching back over 25 years: formed by Fairport Convention and Steeleye Span bassist and founder, Ashley Hutchings, winner of the 2006 BBC Radio 2 Good Tradition Award. This 2001 album had one of the most exciting line-ups for many years, with young firebrands and experienced players alike. Along with Ashley on bass, Ken Nichol is featured on guitar and vocals. A vastly experienced player and singer, Ken went on to join Steeleye Span, where he remains as their singer and guitarist. On the youth side, we have Kellie While's sparkling vocals, Joe Broughton's dancing fiddle and the rhythmical percussion of Neil Marshall. A well rounded line-up follows the tradition of the The Albion Band remaining true to its roots in the English tradition and true to its reputation for classic contemporary Folk Rock.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Press Gang
      • 2. B4391/I-95
      • 3. The Road Beneath My Wheels
      • 4. Dental Excursion
      • 5. Pieces Of Me
      • 6. Home Straight
      • 7. Cookery Is The New Rock 'N' Roll
      • 8. When My Son Is Grown
      • 9. Customs: Culture Shock/Etiquette/Nothing To Declare
      • 10. It Is That Window Of Time
      • 11. She Still Waits
      • 12. Southern Skies
      • 13. He Ran Out Of Road