What Comes After

Terje Rypdal

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 3507523

Release Date:  16 October 2020

Label:  ECM Touchstone

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0602435075235

Genres:  Jazz  Progressive Rock  

  • Description

    Following on from the release of Terje Rypdal's widely acclaimed album Conspiracy, ECM now reissues four Rypdal recordings from the 1970's - albums which helped to establish the Norwegian guitarist as a truly original force in creative music.

    Terje Rypdal / What Comes After (originally released 1974)

    Terje Rypdal: guitars, flute; Barre Phillips: double bass, piccolo bass; Jon Christensen: drums, percussion, organ; Erik Niord Larsen: oboe, English horn; Sveinung Hovensjo: bass guitar

    What Comes After introduced a new alliance with American bassist Barre Phillips whose freely creative arco playing is often the second lead voice (two of the compositions are also Barre's).

    The unorthodox line-up includes contributions from powerhouse bass guitarist Sveinung Hovensjo, an important collaborator throughout the 70s (in the Odyssey band and other ensembles), and from classical oboist Erik Niord Larsen.

    Rypdal, Phillips and Christensen periodically played completely improvised concerts in 1973, and free music's sense of anything-can-happen also influences What Comes After. In this spirit, Jon Christensen's instrumental responsibilities extend, uncharacteristically, to playing organ on "Sejours", a piece which also features Terje on flute.

    The concluding "Back of J," is developed as an elegant rubato ballad featuring Phillips's bass, Rypdal's acoustic guitar, and Christensen's cymbals. From moment to moment, the soundscape changes on What Comes After, making it an album that invites repeated investigation to unlock its mysteries.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bend It
      • 2. Yearning
      • 3. Icing
      • 4. Whar Comes After
      • 5. Sejours
      • 6. Back Of J.