...con Passione

Tatjana Vorobjova

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: SACD

Cat No: MDG92123116

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  05 April 2024

Label:  MDG

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  760623231167

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description

    In her latest album, Tatjana Vorobjova focuses entirely on emotion. Expressed in richness of sound, dynamics and refined nuance, the highly acclaimed Latvian harpsichordist explores expanding the instrument's expressive possibilities and shows how well this can be achieved with the grand master of counterpoint in a touchingly personal selection of Bach's highly expressive works.

    Expressive cantabile harpsichord playing is at the forefront of Vorobjova's interpretations. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue contains virtuoso passage work and complex chord chains that seem to go beyond the scope of the instrument. The instrumental recitative at its heart addresses us directly and tempts our imaginations - is it perhaps Bach lamenting the death of Maria Barbara, his first wife?

    The harpsichord served as an anchor to Bach's entire life and career. It was the instrument, alongside the clavichord, at which he composed. Suite BWV 823 is in F minor, the key Bach reserved for particularly expressive music. Surprising harmonies over chromatic basses and ostinato rhythms intensify the expression.

    Partita in E minor BWV 830 is another work of great expressive depth, with Air and Tempo di Gavotta complementing the regular succession of movements. Vorobjova crowns her personal exploration of the emotional Bach with the richly ornamented Adagio BWV 564 originally for organ, which she transcribed herself for her full-toned two-manual harpsichord (after Ruckers) - a convincing conclusion to an all-round captivating programme!

    "...Vorobjova's effortless technique and sense of playfulness make for a captivating hour of listening. She employs a subtle rubato tempo that emphasises the lyricism of the music and creates the illusion of dynamic variation. A magnificent new Scarlatti recital that celebrates the poetic nature of the Scarlatti sonatas..." - Fanfare [MDG9212252]

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. J.S. Bach: Suite in F Minor, BWV 823: I. Prelude
      • 2. II. Sarabande en Rondeau
      • 3. III. Gigue
      • 4. Partita No. 3 in A Minor, BWV 827: I. Fantasia
      • 5. II. Allemande
      • 6. III. Corrente
      • 7. IV. Sarabande
      • 8. V. Burlesca
      • 9. VI. Scherzo
      • 10. VII. Gigue
      • 11. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903: I. Fantasie
      • 12. II. Fugue
      • 13. Partita No. 6 in E Minor, BWV 830: I. Toccata
      • 14. II. Allemanda
      • 15. III. Corrente
      • 16. IV. Air
      • 17. V. Sarabande
      • 18. VI. Tempo di Gavotta
      • 19. VII. Gigue
      • 20. Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C Major for Organ, BWV 564: II. Adagio in A Minor (arr. for harpsichord)