Space Is The Place

Sun Ra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: CDMH267

Release Date:  02 June 2023

Label:  !k7 Records / Modern Harmonic

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  090771826725

Genres:  Jazz  Jazz  

  • Description

    A celestial journey is just what Sun Ra and his Arkestra have created with Space is the Place. Sun Ra's opus is at its simplest, a trip through outer bound melodies! Planetary bodies, eras in time, crystals, space caravans… Allow yourself to envision or feel a world away with this deluxe package of 2 CDs, a BluRay Disc & DVD of the film, and lots more!The audio portion contains the original music composed for the film, which was eventually released as a soundtrack in 1993. It also features The Mathematics Of The Altered Destiny, a previously unissued album recorded in the same soundtrack sessions but is finally being released half a century after it was recorded. This newly discovered album is heavy on the prose of Sun Ra, as he and June Tyson bestow countless bits of information and inspiration onto the listener. The film soundtrack is an entirely different journey than the 1973 Blue Thumb LP it shares its title with. We suggest you take both journeys. These recordings were sourced from the Sun Ra tape vault, then were digitally restored to make an album this special sound the best it possibly could.The BluRay contains the entire glorious film complete with film artifacts, and was sourced from the restoration prepared by Rapid Eye Movies of Germany. The bonus features on the BluRay are composed of Ra and Racentric material from the Modern Harmonic archives, including video from the Outer Space Visual Communicator footage.An additional track from these sessions, "The Idea Of The Greater Age" can be found on the CD version of this album or on the album Some Skin: A Modern Harmonic Bongo & Percussion Party.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. It's After The End Of The World
      • 2. Under Different Stars
      • 3. Discipline 33
      • 4. Watusa
      • 5. Calling Planet Earth
      • 6. I Am The Alter-Destiny
      • 7. Satellites Are Spinning
      • 8. Cosmic Forces
      • 9. Outer Spaceways Incorporated
      • 10. We Travel The Spaceways
      • 11. The Overseer
      • 12. Blackman / Love In Outer Space
      • 13. Mysterious Crystal
      • 14. I Am The Brother Of The Wind
      • 15. We'll Wait For You
      • 16. Space Is The Place
      • 17. The Mathematics Of The Altered Destiny (previously unissued)
      • 18. Listen Intently To The Things I Do Not Say (previously unissued)
      • 19. Creation Is Fabrication (previously unissued)
      • 20. My World Is The Space Way (previously unissued)