Mozart: Stephen Hough's Mozart Album

Stephen Hough

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA67598

Release Date:  01 March 2008

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571175980

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    We are delighted to present an eagerly awaited recital disc from Stephen Hough. This fascinating programme begins with some of Mozart’s most audacious and forward-looking piano works. Mozart’s Fantasia in C minor K475 is a wonderfully unfettered and uninhibited work, suffused with high drama and a sense of constantly shifting moods. The Piano Sonata in B flat major K333 is a similarly ground-breaking piece, developing in scale and drama from its lyrical, gentle opening.
    The second part of the disc features Mozart as seen by others, from the homage of a near-contemporary right up to the modern day, with Hough’s own irresistibly quirky Mozart imaginings, and from elegant miniatures to Liszt/Busoni’s virtuosic Figaro Fantasy. This disc is full of surprises, and demonstrates the full range of Hough’s extraordinary artistry.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Fantasy for Piano in C minor, K 475 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      • 2. Sonata for Piano no 13 in B flat major, K 333 (315c): 1st movement, Allegro - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozar
      • 3. Sonata for Piano no 13 in B flat major, K 333 (315c): 2nd movement, Andante cantabile - Wolfgang Ama
      • 4. Sonata for Piano no 13 in B flat major, K 333 (315c): 3rd movement, Allegretto - Wolfgang Amadeus Mo
      • 5. Fantasia for Piano in C minor, K 396 (385f) - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      • 6. Études, Op. 103: no 6, Hommage à Mozart - Johann Baptist Cramer
      • 7. Menuetto in D major (from Mozart's Divertimento for 2 Horns and Strings no 17 in D major, K 334) - I
      • 8. Three Mozart Transformations (after Poulenc): no 1, Minuet (K 1) - Stephen Hough
      • 9. Three Mozart Transformations (after Poulenc): no 2, Klavierstück (K 33) - Stephen Hough
      • 10. Three Mozart Transformations (after Poulenc): no 3, Sehnsucht nach dem Frühlinge (K 596) - Stephen
      • 11. Fantasia on 2 themes from Mozart's 'Marriage of Figaro,' S 697 - Franz Liszt