Where The River Bends Is Only The Beginning

Saramaccan Sound (Suriname)

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: GBCD144

Release Date:  09 February 2024

Label:  Glitterbeat GmbH

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4030433614426

Genres:  World Music  

  • Description

    Saramaccan Sound (Suriname) are a brother duo - Dwight Sampie and Robert Jabini - who write and perform flowing acoustic songs sung in Saramaccan , the language from the Americas with the most African elements - Their debut album was recorded in situ by Grammy winner Ian Brennan (Parchman Prison Prayer, Ustad Saami, The Good Ones) along a remote riverside in the Amiazon region of Suriname. The lyrics are topical and reference everyday strife such as the rising tides and floods in the area due to global warming. Their bone raw songs and performances evoke heart-worn longing, a deep sense of place and a strange familiarity. As if Merle Haggard had been raised in the Amazon rather than Bakersfield - "Where the River Bends Is Only the Beginning" is the 12th release in Glitterbeat's acclaimed Hidden Musics series.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Some Kind of New Beginning
      • 2. One Mother, Two Hearts
      • 3. Thank God, I Made It Through the Night
      • 4. I Built Two Boats to Take Me to the Sea
      • 5. Villages Swallowed by the Floods
      • 6. Please, Save Me
      • 7. Sweet River (The Government Drowned Our Village for the Dam)
      • 8. Goodbye, We Will Never Meet Again
      • 9. Death Rites Riverside
      • 10. When I Go to Sleep
      • 11. We Lost Someone Close to Us Again
      • 12. Ancestor Call