Le Nouveau Salon - Works By Schubert, Ravel, Debussy & Prokofiev

Sarah Ouakrat; Maarten Den Hengst; Floor Le Coultre; Ivana Alkovic; Michael Bennett

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: KTC1767
Only 17 left!

Release Date:  02 June 2023

Label:  Etcetera

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8711801017679

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    The scent of a freshly baked madeleine, the feel of velvet against your skin, the sound of conversation buzzing quietly around you before a concert.

    Our senses can transport us back to the past in magical ways, evoking strong memories or feelings of nostalgia.

    Flautist Sarah Ouakrat found a way to reconnect with her home country of France through Marcel Proust's novel ? la recherche du temps perdu ("In Search of Lost Time").

    Inspired by the returning theme of involuntary memories and the descriptions of the Parisian salons of the 'Belle Epoque', Sarah revisited her own memories through the music that has accompanied her during her career so far.

    Out of this journey was born her debut album, Le Nouveau Salon.

  • Tracklisting

    1. Schubert: Introduction, Theme and Variations: Introduction on Trockne
    2. New theme, part of the song Trockne Blumen
    3. Variations I, II
    4. New variation III with extracts from the song Trockne Blumen
    5. Variation IV
    6. New Variation V
    7. Variation VI
    8. New Variation VII
    9. Ravel: Sonata No. 1 (Arr. for Flute and Piano)
    10. Debussy: Syrinx on the poem by Gabriel Mourey
    11. Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 in D Major (Arr. for Flute, Violin and Piano): I. Moderato
    12. II. Presto
    13. III. Andante