British Light Music Classics, Vol. 1

Ronald Corp: New London Orchestra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66868

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 May 1996

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571168685

Genres:  Classical  Orchestral  

  • Description

    Britain has a fine tradition in the creation of quality light music—music of the sort that plumbs no intellectual or emotional stimulation, but lifts the spirits with ingratiating melodies decked out with consummate craftsmanship. In this collection are gathered some of the classics that the genre has produced over a period from Victorian times to the second Elizabethan age. Seventeen tracks of music universally recognizable: many of the pieces have introduced television and radio broadcasts for years: Calling All Workers (Music While You Work); Devil's Galop (Dick Barton—Special Agent); The Old Clockmaker (Jennings at School); Coronation Scot (Paul Temple Detective Series); Puffin' Billy (Children's Favourites); The Watermill (The Secret Garden). The disc also includes Jumping Bean, claimed to have been used as a signature tune around the world more times than any other piece! All of the music on this album is also available as part of the specially priced box set British Light Music Classics: ‘Golden nostalgia with fidelity to a long departed but by many still cherished past. Riches indeed!’ (MusicWeb International).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Calling All Workers
      • 2. The Haunted Ballroom
      • 3. Vanity Fair
      • 4. Jumping Bean
      • 5. Destiny
      • 6. The Boulevardier
      • 7. Pas De Quatre
      • 8. The Watermill
      • 9. The Devil's Galop
      • 10. Dusk
      • 11. Puffin' Billy
      • 12. Bells Across The Meadows
      • 13. The Old Clockmaker
      • 14. Dreaming
      • 15. Elizabethan Serenade
      • 16. Coronation Scot
      • 17. Nights Of Gladness