Sweelinck: Cantiones Sacrae, Vol. 2

Richard Marlow: Trinity College Choir Cambridge

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA67104

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 April 1999

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571171043

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description

    The last great representative of that fertile 'golden age' of Netherlands polyphonists, Sweelinck merits recognition not only as one of the most prolific and versatile musicians of his time but as one of the leading choral composers of the late Renaissance. The Cantiones Sacrae are Catholic motets, in Latin, for five-part choir with basso continuo; almost all the texts are drawn from the Vulgate and the Roman liturgy. However, the texts are varied—ranging from the desolate and meditative to the exuberant and festive. Within these pieces we hear some of Sweelinck's most interesting and distinctive music. It is hoped that the present recordings will help draw attention to a rich and diverse repertoire that deserves to be far better known. And who could be better equipped to perform it than Trinity College Chapel Choir under the direction of Richard Marlow?

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Cantiones Sacrae-2: In Illo Tempore Postquam Consummati Sunt
      • 2. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Paracletus Autem Spiritus Sanctus
      • 3. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Videte Manus Meas Et Pedes Meos
      • 4. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Domine Deus Meus In Te Sperabo
      • 5. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Viri Galilei
      • 6. Quid Statis Sspicientes In Coelum
      • 7. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Ubi Duo Vel Tres Congregati Fuerint
      • 8. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Beati Omnes Qui Timent Dominum
      • 9. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Timor Domini Principium Sapientiae
      • 10. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Hodie Beata Virgo Maria Puerum Jesum
      • 11. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Ecce Virgo Concipiet Et Pariet Filium
      • 12. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Gaudete Omnes Et Laetamini
      • 13. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Regina Coeli Laetare
      • 14. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Magnificat Anima Mea Dominum
      • 15. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Angelus Ad Pastores Ait
      • 16. Cantiones Sacrae-2: Tanto Tempore Vobiscum
      • . Cantiones Sacrae-2: Te Deum Laudamus