Oh Mensch! Gib Acht!

Reinhold Friedrich; Sebastian Kuchler-Blessing

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: SACD

Cat No: ARS38359

Release Date:  12 January 2024

Label:  ARS Produktion

Packaging Type:  Super Jewel Case (SACD)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4260052383599

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    The album Oh Mensch! by the well-known world-class trumpeter Reinhold Friedrich and the Essen cathedral organist Sebastian Kuchler-Blessing is a far cry from the usual popular instrumentation of trumpet and organ.

    Here, the two place contemporary works written in response to the horrors of the Third Reich in dialogue with arrangements of works from the Romantic period.

    In view of the war atrocities that are unfortunately happening again on European soil, "Oh Mensch, gib Acht!" has probably rarely been of more relevance.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Johannes Brahms: O Tod, wie bitter bist Du, \uFEFFaus Vier ernste Gesange op. 121
      • 2. Zsigmond Szathmary: \uFEFF...ad memoriam...
      • 3. Gustav Mahler: Oh Mensch! Gib Acht! aus 3. Sinfonie d-moll
      • 4. Luca Lombardi: \uFEFFGilgul per tromba e organo
      • 5. Max Bruch: Kol Nidrei op. 47
      • 6. Jan Muller-Wieland: Musik fur eine Kirche fur 2 Trompeten und Orgel
      • 7. Norbert Linke: Santa Teresa fur Flote, Trompete und Orgel
      • 8. Otfried Busing: Hevenu shalom aleichem