Mare Nostrum - Works For Guitar

Rafael Catala, Musica Iberica

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CHR77478

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  28 June 2024

Label:  Christophorus

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4010072774781

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    Baroque lute music is fused with elements of flamenco, jacaras, fandangos and other Spanish dances and immersed in new colours with oriental rhythms and many elements of improvisation.

    Spanish guitarist and composer Rafael Catala specialises in the guitar music of his homeland, which in turn is characterised by influences from a wide range of Oriental and Occidental styles. This melting pot of cultures can also be felt in his new CD mare nostrum with his ensemble Musica Iberica.

    The ensemble has an unusual line-up, as the guitar is joined by oriental frame drums, the Swedish nyckelharpa (a keyboard fiddle) and a baroque violone (the predecessor of the double bass).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Rafael Catala: Mediterraneo - Mare Nostrum
      • 2. Francisco Guerau; Santiago de Murcia: Trece Diferencias de Gallarda / Fandango
      • 3. Alessandro Piccinini; Johann Heinrich Kapsberger: Toccata VI / Canario
      • 4. Santiago de Murcia: Villanos / La Jota
      • 5. Folias Gallegas
      • 6. Gaspar Sanz: Preludio
      • 7. Marizapalos
      • 8. Jacaras
      • 9. Zarabanda
      • 10. Canarios
      • 11. Diego Ortiz: Recercada alla Rumba