Quantic & Nidia Gongora

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TRUCD342

Release Date:  12 May 2017

Label:  Tru Thoughts

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060205157843

Genres:  Electronic  Latin Music  

Release Date:  12 May 2017

Label:  Tru Thoughts

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5060205157850

Genres:  Electronic  Latin Music  

  • Description

    "They have combined to produce somethingmagical" The Guardian

    "Inspirational" Giles Peterson BBC 6Music

    "Absolutely wonderful" Lauren Laverne BBC 6Music

    'Curao' is the first full collaborative album from world-renowned British producer Quantic and Colombian folklore singer Nidia Góngora – who has regularly fronted Quantic's high profile live ensembles in recent years as well as contributing to some of his most popular tracks.

    With infectiously danceable rhythms, captivating songwriting and up-to-the minute production, 'Curao' brings a new and highly original interpretation of the unique, rich and mystical musical traditions of the Colombian Pacific Coast.

    Combining Quantic's trademark electronic production with the distinctive traditional rhythms of Pacific music, the album presents itself as a captivating body of work. Treating the stories and rhythms of Pacific music with utmost reverence, while forging a new and vital sound for today's dancefloors, it reflects the distinctive yet diverse nature of the Pacific Coast itself – an area brimming with beauty and creativity but also shaded by conflict, affected by the work of mining companies, private militias and the drugs trade.

    Holland's work with Nidia Góngora has grown into of the most influential partnerships of his career; for Góngora's part, this work is the only time she has mixed outside influences into her beloved traditional style, and she is conscious of protecting its essence. "You have to be very careful to keep a balance, so that this music will not lose its feeling and significance", she says, "but by performing songs from the indigenous and ancestral style, and recreating them through modern and dynamic sounds, I feel I can expose this musical proposition to a global space."

    With more than 15 albums on Tru Thoughts, Holland's work as a band leader, producer, DJ and more has led The Guardian to class him "alongside global music adventurers such as Damon Albarn and DJ Gilles Peterson" and Red Bull Radio to enlist him for a regular show (adding to heavy international media coverage). His rare ability to interpret genres and seek out fascinating collaborators has led to acclaimed projects including The Quantic Soul Orchestra, the Cómbo Barbaro and Flowering Inferno, not to mention cutting-edge solo electronic LPs, and side-projects including Óndatropica (Soundway).


    2LP gatefold vinyl on reverse board.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Intro
      • 2. E Ye Ye
      • 3. Que Me Duele?
      • 4. Dub Del Pacifico (Version)
      • 5. Interludio I
      • 6. Se Lo Ví
      • 7. Muevelo Negro (Edit)
      • 8. Amor En Francia
      • 9. Ojos Vicheros
      • 10. Nanguita (Edit)
      • 11. Dios Promete
      • 12. Interludio II
      • 13. Maria No Me Llevo
      • 14. Interludio III
      • 15. Un Canto A Mi Tierra
      • 16. No Soy Del Valle (Version)
      • 17. Interludio IV
      • 18. Maldito Muchacho


      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Intro
      • 2. E Ye Ye
      • 3. Que Me Duele?

      Disc 2

      • 1. Dub Del Pacifico (Version)
      • 2. Dios Promete
      • 3. Se Lo Ví
      • 4. Muevelo Negro (Edit)

      Disc 3

      • 1. Amor En Francia
      • 2. Ojos Vicheros
      • 3. Interludio III
      • 4. Nanguita (Edit)

      Disc 4

      • 1. Interludio II
      • 2. Maria No Me Llevo
      • 3. Un Canto A Mi Tierra
      • 4. No Soy Del Valle (Version)

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed