Gottschalk: Piano Music, Vol. 1

Philip Martin

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66459

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 June 1991

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571164595

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    All of the music on this album is also available as part of the specially priced box set Gottschalk: The Complete Solo Piano Music: ‘There are some fine Gottschalk albums out there, but Martin’s is the only complete survey of the composer’s works for solo piano. Not only that, he has a unique affinity for this music that shines through in every bar â€¦ Martin reminds us just how consistently assured and interesting Gottschalk’s keyboard writing really is. Indeed, that’s why I found it so easy to listen to all 109 tracks in a single day. Sensitively planned and lovingly played, this set contains some of the most varied and enchanting piano sounds imaginable â€¦ a must-buy for pianophiles and LMG fans alike’ (MusicWeb International).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Le Banjo
      • 2. Grotesque fantasie
      • 3. Le Mancenillier
      • 4. Serenade
      • 5. Op. 11
      • 6. Minuit à Seville
      • 7. Caprice
      • 8. Op. 30
      • 9. Romanze
      • 10. Chanson de Gitano
      • 11. Mazurka
      • 12. Souvenir de Porto Rico
      • 13. march des Gibaros Op. 31
      • 14. Souvenir de la Havane
      • . Grand caprice de concert