Vital Spark Of Heav'nly Flame - Music Of Death And Resurrection From English Parish Churches And Chapels, 1760-1840

Peter Holman: The Parley of Instruments

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA67020

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 March 1998

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571170206

Genres:  Classical  Vocal  

  • Description

    This is a recording of Georgian music for Holy Week, Easter and funerals ranging from the simple psalmody associated with the galleries of rural parish churches to elaborate orchestral anthems written for the groups which developed into the Victorian choral society tradition. While the composers' names will not be familiar, this is nonetheless music of a striking and vigorous nature, here performed by the choir Psalmody—the experts in the field.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. This is the day the Lord hath made
      • 2. Vital spark of heav'nly flame
      • 3. When rising from the bed of death
      • 4. The Lord is risen
      • 5. Alas! and did my Saviour bleed?
      • 6. Yes! the Redeemer rose
      • 7. Angels
      • 8. roll the rock away
      • 9. I heard a voice from heaven
      • 10. Unveil thy bossom
      • 11. faithful tomb
      • 12. Christ being raised from the dead
      • 13. Might I in thy sight appear
      • 14. O Lord
      • 15. what is man!
      • . Spirit