The Quiet Cormorant

Per Oddvar Johansen

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LOS2372
Only 3 left!

Release Date:  17 July 2020

Label:  Losen Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  7090025832376

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Norwegian drummer and composer Per Oddvar Johansen is probably best known for his work with Christian Wallumr?d, Trygve Seim, The Source, Solveig Slettahjell and Vigleik Storaas.

    A five times winner of the Spellemannprisen, Norway's equivalent of a Grammy, Per Oddvar Johansen is recognised by many as a natural successor and flame keeper to the late Jon Christensen and Paul Motian - recognition that places him firmly in the hierarchy of today's drummers.

    Per Oddvar wrote much of the music on 'The Quiet Cormorant' in quiet, creative solitude in The Arctic Hideaway on a coastline near Bod? in northern Norway where the Atlantic ocean, the light, the sounds of birds and the sense of space and distance become an artist's palette.

    In his head were the sounds of his fellow musicians in the trio.

    Joining him is pianist Helge Lien, who he describes as having a unique way of incorporating a Norwegian sound in his playing, and Torben Snekkestad's phrasing, detail, and unbelievable control over his saxophone.

    Audiences, too, perceive so much thoughtfulness in Helge's playing, a quiet passion as he leans into every note, while Torben's sound is profoundly songlike, the breath mattering as much as the notes.

    Joining the trio on two tracks is the guitarist Hedvig Mollestad, another remarkable presence in Norwegian music in recent years.

    Hedvig is such a great musician says Per Oddvar, "I like the rock-reminiscence it gives to the record as a whole".

    Certainly it's far more than a guest appearance from Hedvig.

    When 'Love, Peace and Currywurst' powers on to the album's landscape, it's like the crash of the oceans wave onto the beach, a hymn to Nature, a party on the sands of time.

    Personnel: Per Oddvar Johansen (drums, vibraphone), Helge Lien (piano), Torben Snekkestad (tenor & soprano saxophone, bass clarinet), Hedvig Mollestad (guitar on tracks 3 and 6)

  • Tracklisting

    1. The Quiet Cormorant
    2. Waltz For Hire
    3. Brown House (By The Sea)
    4. The Njalla Suite
    5. Island Movies
    6. Love, Peace And Currywurst
    7. The Still
    8. S?rv?r Major Minor
    9. A Ballad In Popular Keys
    10. Sunshine - After Fog
    11. Current Tides
    12. Where Did You Go?
    13. Around And About The Roundabout