The Reel Note

Mick, Louise & Michelle Mulcahy

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CICD202

Release Date:  23 September 2016

Label:  Copperplate Independent

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  539015301937

Genres:  Folk  Irish Folk  

  • Description

    The first thing to be said that the music on this CD is first class, no gimmicks, syncopations or other distractions, just extremely good music played by exceptionally talented musicians, across a range of instruments, all played to a very high standard. A brief look at the track notes will reveal their in 64258;uences, sources and heroes, which includes tunes and settings from the old masters and also includes tunes by recent composers and younger musicians. The Mulcahy family represents a new generation of musicians who have made serious study of the music and are poised to bring it to a new height. This is so welcome and needs to be acknowledged and encouraged. If their first album was a revelation for the rhythmic and beautiful Mulcahy sound - as well as the virtuosity across several instruments of Michelle and Louise - The Reel Note presents a new level of musicianship exploring their collective repertoire. Mick Mulcahy from Brosna, Co. Kerry, recorded two accordion albums on the Gael-Linn label in 1976 and 1990, and, while he always played music at home, he never had to try to get his children to play as they quickly found their own way to it. Louise and Michelle both started on tin whistle. At age 10 Louise moved on to the flute and as a teenager began playing uilleann pipes. Mick recalls driving Louise to Dublin from their home in Limerick every month for a year for lessons in Na Píobairí Uilleann. Louise recently guest-presented the TG4 traditional-music show Geantraí. Michelle started playing the accordion aged six and surprised everyone when she asked for a harp at age ten. She subsequently took up the fiddle, piano and concertina. Michelle was TG4 Young Traditional Musician of the Year in 2006 and recently featured on Riverdance composer Bill Whelan's new album, The Connemara Suite, on a piece for harp and orchestra which he wrote for her. Mick, Louise and Michelle Mulcahy regularly perform in Ireland the USA and have an unmistakeable, infectious sound. As Martin Hayes writes, 'I first became familiar with the music of Mick Mulcahy from his first solo recording... I remember that both my father and I felt that his music had a great depth of feeling". That same feeling that first made an impression on me has been handed on to his daughters and continues all the way through this recording.'

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Rose in the Heather the/Killavil Jig the/An Buachailin Ban
      • 2. Fog on the Hill the/Dave White's/Peg Mcgrath's
      • 3. Stack of Oats/Nellie, Your Favour I'm Afraid I'll Not Gain
      • 4. Planxt Davis/Queen of May the/Johnny Henry's Favourite
      • 5. Rolling Hills of Brosna the/Colonel Mcbain
      • 6. Fox on the Thatch the/Snow on the Mountain the/Killyglass Lakes
      • 7. Galway Rambler the/Morning Dew the/Boston Sligo Reel the
      • 8. Eleanor Plunkett
      • 9. Three Sisters Reel the/Tap the Barrell/Killavil Reel the
      • 10. Munster Jig the/Old Hag You Have Me Killed Me/Humours of Lisheen the
      • 11. Forget Me Not/Mchugn's Reel/Missing Reel the
      • 12. Caislean An Oir/May Ban
      • 13. Bold Thady Quill the/Boys of Tanderagee the/Cecilia's Favourite
      • 14. John Kelly's/Rip the Calico/New Line to Loughaun the