Holloway: Serenade; Schumann: Liederkreis

Martyn Brabbins: The Nash Ensemble

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66930

Release Date:  01 June 1998

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571169309

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    Robin Holloway's early musical training took place as a chorister at St Paul's Cathedral in London. He is now a lecturer at Cambridge University, where he has been since 1975. His compositions are increasingly respected and recorded, and a disc of his Second and Third Concertos for Orchestra won the 1994 Gramophone Award for Contemporary Record of the Year.
    Two distinct strands inform his compositional style: there is an inevitably 'modernist' stance, but this is complemented by the fruits of his study of language, style and quotation. This latter is represented here by the Fantasy-Pieces on the Heine 'Liederkreis' of Schumann. In many ways a 'sequel' to the Scenes from Schumann of 1970, the Fantasy has five instrumental movements which explore extensions, descants, reharmonizations, rhythmic shifts and the like on Schumann's original work. It also includes, after the Prelude, a 'straight' performance of Liederkreis. All in all, a fascinating juxtaposition of Romanticism and modernist tonality.
    The Serenade in C, for the same instrumentation as the Schubert Octet, was commissioned by The Nash Ensemble in 1978 and completed the following year. Again the work is 'derivative' and highly original at once, Holloway giving, in his own words, 'an affectionate twist to tonal common practice and light-music cliches all the way from Biedermeier Vienna to Southend Pier'.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Serenade In C: Marcia
      • 2. Serenade In C: Menuetto alla tarantella
      • 3. Serenade In C: Andante
      • 4. Serenade In C: Menuetto And Trio
      • 5. Serenade In C: Finale
      • 6. Fantasy Pieces On The Heine 'Liederkreis' Of Schumann: Praeludium
      • 7. Liederkreis: Morgens steh' ich auf und frage
      • 8. Liederkreis: Es treibt mich hin
      • 9. Liederkreis: Ich wandelte unter den Bauman
      • 10. Liederkreis: Lieb Liebchen
      • 11. Liederkreis: Schone Wiege meiner Leiden
      • 12. Liederkreis: Warte, warte, wilder Schiffmann
      • 13. Liederkreis: Berg' und Burgen
      • 14. Liederkreis: Anfangs wollt' ich fast verzagen
      • 15. Liederkreis: Mit Myrthen Und Rosen
      • 16. Fantasy Pieces On The Heine 'Liederkreis' Of Schumann: Half Asleep
      • 17. Fantasy Pieces On The Heine 'Liederkreis' Of Schumann: Adagio
      • 18. Fantasy Pieces On The Heine 'Liederkreis' Of Schumann: Scherzo ostinato
      • 19. Fantasy Pieces On The Heine 'Liederkreis' Of Schumann: Finale: Roses - Thorns And Flowers