Night Life

Lurlean Hunter

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: 032SP

Release Date:  10 November 2023

Label:  Supper Club

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8435723700609

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal  

  • Description

    180g virgin vinyl pressing, limited edition of 1000 copies only - the complete album + 3 bonus tracks. Lurlean Hunter's recording career ran for fifteen years, and then unexpectedly ended in the mid-1960s. Hunter (1919-1983) was working with the George Shearing Quintet in 1951 and in the mid-1950s recorded four amazing albums surrounded by the creme de la cremeof the jazz world at that time. On Night Life, she is heard with an all-star band conducted by Manny Albam featuring Al Cohn, Joe Newman, Barry Galbraith, and Hank Jones.

    "I couldn't believe I'd never heard either her name or that flawless voice before, so I Googled her. It was a brief career, during which she successfully sued RCA Records for infringement of trade name (and on several other grounds). I wonder if that contributed to her relative obscurity. That voice deserved to be far better known." - Robert Taylor

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Georgia On My Mind
      • 2. What A Difference A Day Made
      • 3. Have You Met Miss Jones
      • 4. That Old Feeling
      • 5. It's The Talk Of The Town
      • 6. Gentleman Friend
      • 7. Blue Turning Grey Over You

      Side 2

      • 1. Night Life
      • 2. It Could Happen To You
      • 3. Moondrift
      • 4. Sunday
      • 5. Like Someone In Love
      • 6. This Time The Dream's On Me
      • 7. If You Could See Me Now
      • 8. Blue And Sentimental

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed