Louis Sings, Armstrong Plays, 1935-1942

Louis Armstrong

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD2547

Release Date:  01 February 1998

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988254723

Genres:  Jazz  Early Jazz  

  • Description

    A splendid compilation of some of Louis Armstrong's earlier work. The great thing about almost any Armstrong collection is that it will have a few songs that are well known (either by performances of Louis Armstrong or another individual) and a few new discoveries. Happily, this is no different. This disc has some delightful singing on the standards like "I'm In The Mood For Love", and "Sunny Side Of The Street", it would not be Louis without some equally wonderful trumpet work, particularly on "Love Walked In", "Red Sails In The Sunset". There is a fabulous duet with Frances Langford and Bing Crosby on "Pennies From Heaven". This is some of Armstrong's best work from a time when his horn was sounding as sweet as it ever did.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. I'm In The Mood For Love
      • 2. You Are My Lucky Star
      • 3. I've Got My Fingers Crossed
      • 4. I'm Shooting High
      • 5. Red Sails In The Sunset
      • 6. On Treasure Island
      • 7. Thanks A Million
      • 8. Shoe Shine Boy
      • 9. I'm Putting All My Eggs In One Basket
      • 10. If We Never Meet Again
      • 11. Pennies From Heaven
      • 12. Once In A While
      • 13. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
      • 14. I Double Dare You
      • 15. On The Sentimental Side
      • 16. It's Wonderful
      • 17. Love Walked In
      • 18. I've Got A Pocketful Of Dreams
      • 19. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
      • 20. Ain't Misbehavin'
      • 21. Jeepers Creepers
      • 22. I'm Confessin'
      • 23. I Cover The Waterfront
      • 24. I Never Knew