Logan Richardson

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WR4772

Release Date:  12 March 2021

Label:  Whirlwind Recordings

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0630808829055

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Alto saxophonist, composer and producer Logan Richardson's career has been marked by his deep engagement with the Black American improvised music tradition as much as by his fearlessly open-minded embrace of the contemporary sounds of the global diaspora and his keen gaze towards the future. 'AfroFuturism' (his fifth solo album) synthesises all those elements together into a stunningly audacious statement that is epic in its scope while providing a deep, intimately personal view into its creator's inner life.

    The core of the album is a series of towering alt-rock/trap/wonky beat soundscapes created Logan's extensive range of keyboards, synthesizers and programming along with the latest iteration of his Blues People band - Igor Osypov on guitar and Peter Schlamb on vibes and keys, with Dominique Sanders on bass and sharing production duties, and the thunderously virtuosic drumming of Ryan J. Lee and Corey Fonville rounding out the rhythm team.

    Logan intersperses these with an array of diverse sonic interludes, scraps of found audio, unexpected, limpid pools of introspective strings performed by Ezgi Karakus and quiet glades of hushed balladry from long-time collaborator, vocalist Laura Taglialatela. Over all, his unmistakable keening voice on alto sax provides the constant narrative thread. "I was trying to get back deeper to the core of my artistic voice: using fresh production processes to mix in my interconnected influences and all the sounds I hear, while trying to find a sense of roots."

    As one of today's most singular voices in contemporary music, with AfroFuturism Richardson delivers not only a hugely impressive statement, but one with a direct and urgent message for the future that is rooted in his own and the larger contemporary Black American state of affairs, while reminding us of his musical unpredictability. One can only imagine what he'll do next.

    Personnel: Logan Richardson (alto saxophone, piano, keyboards, synths), Igor Osypov (electric and acoustic guitars), Peter Schlamb (vibraphone, keyboards, key bass), Dominique Sanders (bass, key bass, production), Ryan J. Lee (drums, bass), Corey Fonville (drums), Laura Taglialatela (vocals), Ezgi Karakus (strings).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Say My Name
      • 2. The Birth Of Us
      • 3. Awaken
      • 4. Sunrays
      • 5. For Alto
      • 6. Light
      • 7. Trap
      • 8. Grandma
      • 9. Farewell, Goodbye
      • 10. Black Wallstreet
      • 11. Photocopy
      • 12. Round Up
      • 13. According To You
      • 14. Praise Song
      • 15. I'm Not Bad, I'm Just Drawn That Way