Piano Music Vol.3

L.M. Gottschalk

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66915

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 March 1997

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571169156

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    This third volume brings to wider attention eleven further morceaux from the pen of Louis Moreau Gottschalk, the father of American composition. With their unique spontaneity and prophetic use of native syncopated rhythms—anticipating ragtime by some fifty years—these are works of intoxicating effect and great individuality. All of the music on this album is also available as part of the specially priced box set Gottschalk: The Complete Solo Piano Music: ‘There are some fine Gottschalk albums out there, but Martin’s is the only complete survey of the composer’s works for solo piano. Not only that, he has a unique affinity for this music that shines through in every bar â€¦ Martin reminds us just how consistently assured and interesting Gottschalk’s keyboard writing really is. Indeed, that’s why I found it so easy to listen to all 109 tracks in a single day. Sensitively planned and lovingly played, this set contains some of the most varied and enchanting piano sounds imaginable â€¦ a must-buy for pianophiles and LMG fans alike’ (MusicWeb International).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. O ma charmante
      • 2. epargnez-moi!
      • 3. Grande Fantaisie triomphale sur l'hymne national bresilien
      • 4. Gottschalk's Melody
      • 5. Bamboula
      • 6. The Dying Poet
      • 7. Hercule
      • 8. The Last Hope
      • 9. Murmures eoliens
      • 10. Symphony No. 1 'La Nuit des tropiques'
      • 11. first movement: Andante
      • . La Chute des Feuilles