Passiontide At St Paul's - A Sequence Of Music For Lent, Passiontide And Easter

John Scott: St Paul's Cathedral Choir

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66916

Release Date:  01 February 1997

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571169163

Genres:  Classical  Choral  

  • Description

    This sequence of music for Lent, Passiontide and Easter represents a journey through perhaps the most dramatic part of the Church's year. It is a season which has inspired many composers to write some of their most potent pieces, and contrasts the seriousness of intent and poignancy found in, say, Lotti's Crucifixus with the exuberance of music such as Philips's Ecce vicit Leo.
    Other favourites in this anthology include Mendelssohn's I waited for the Lord, Bruckner's Christus factus est, and the beautiful Gibbons setting of Drop, drop, slow tears with the soloist Anthony Way (who caused such a stir in television's The Choir). There are also two important new works, by John Sanders and Brian Chapple.
    A celebration both of Easter and of exceptional singing.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. A Lent Prose
      • 2. Call To Remembrance, O Lord
      • 3. I Waited For The Lord
      • 4. The Lamentation
      • 5. The Reproaches
      • 6. Ecce lignum Crucis
      • 7. Christus factus est
      • 8. Drop, Drop, Slow Tears
      • 9. Crucifixus A 8
      • 10. This Joyful Eastertide
      • 11. In Exitu Israel (Psalm 114)
      • 12. Ecce vicit Leo
      • 13. Te Deum In C