Quilter: Songs

John Mark Ainsley, Malcolm Martineau

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA66878

Release Date:  01 September 1996

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571168784

Genres:  Classical  Vocal  

  • Description

    Roger Quilter was a writer of songs, and virtually nothing else (there was an opera, a couple of ballets, and the once well-known A Children's Overture). He composed over one hundred songs, at least half of which remain in the repertoire, loved by performers and audiences alike. This popularity perhaps arose in the first place from the absence of great technical demands being made on the performers (or intellectual ones on the listeners), but the fact that this popularity has never waned owes everything to Quilter's individuality: the addictive qualities of his vocal lines and his uniquely involved accompaniments. This recital includes three of the four sets of Shakespeare Songs, as well as the perennially popular 'Now sleeps the crimson petal' and Quilter's acknowledged masterpiece, 'Go, lovely Rose'.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Three Shakespeare Songs, Op.6: Come Away, Death
      • 2. Three Shakespeare Songs, Op.6: O Mistress Mine
      • 3. Three Shakespeare Songs, Op.6: Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind
      • 4. Four Songs Of Mirza Scaffy, Op.2: Neig' shon' Knospe Dich zu dir
      • 5. Four Songs Of Mirza Scaffy, Op.2: Und was die Sonne gluht
      • 6. Four Songs Of Mirza Scaffy, Op.2: Ich fuhle Deinen Odem
      • 7. Four Songs Of Mirza Scaffy, Op.2: Die helle Sonne leuchtet
      • 8. Autumn Evening, Op.14 No.1
      • 9. June
      • 10. Two September Songs, Op.18 Nos.5& : Through The Sunny Garden
      • 11. Two September Songs, Op.18 Nos.5& : The Valley And The Hill
      • 12. Arab Love Song, Op.25 No.4
      • 13. Music, When Soft Voices Die, Op.25 No.5
      • 14. Love's Philosophy, Op.3 No.1
      • 15. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op.23: Fear No More The Heat O' The Sun
      • 16. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op.23: Under The Greenwood Tree
      • 17. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op.23: It Was A Lover And His Lass
      • 18. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op.23: Take, O Take Those Lips Away
      • 19. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op.23: Hey, Ho, The Wind And The Rain
      • 20. Now Sleeps The Crimson Petal, Op.3 No.2
      • 21. Go, Lovely Rose, Op.24 No.3
      • 22. A last Year's Rose, Op.14 No.3
      • 23. Four Child Songs, Op.5: A Good Child
      • 24. Four Child Songs, Op.5: The Lamplighter
      • 25. Four Child Songs, Op.5: Where Go The Boats?
      • 26. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: Weep You No More
      • 27. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: My Life's Delight
      • 28. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: Damask Roses
      • 29. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: The Faithless Shepherdess
      • 30. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: Brown Is My Love
      • 31. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: By A Fountainside
      • 32. Seven Elizabethan Lyrics, Op.12: Fair House Of Joy
      • 33. Old English Popular Songs: Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes
      • 34. Old English Popular Songs: Barbara Allen
      • 35. Old English Popular Songs: Over The Mountains
      • 36. Four Shakespeare Songs, Op.30: Who Is Sylvia?
      • 37. Four Shakespeare Songs, Op.30: When Daffodils Begin To Peer
      • 38. Four Shakespeare Songs, Op.30: How Should I Your True Love Know?
      • 39. Four Shakespeare Songs, Op.30: Sigh No More, Ladies

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed