Joel-Francois Durand

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: KAI0022200

Format Details:

Release Date:  03 May 2024

Label:  Kairos Re ords

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  9120010284007

Genres:  Classical  Contemporary Classical  

  • Description

    This double album with compositions from the last two decades offers an insight into the diverse musical soundscape of Joel-Francois Durand. From Mirror Land (2005) to Geister, schwebende Geister... (2020), Durand's work shows a unique development characterised by his use of microtonality. The poetic dialogues of the Fernando Pessoa-inspired Quatuor a cordes No. 2: Cantar de Amigo (2020) and Durand's ongoing exploration of microtonal spaces in La descente de l'ange (2022) reveal a dynamic and transformative universe of this extraordinary composer.

    Performers on this recording: Szilard Benes, Mivos Quartet, Olivia De Prato, Ensemble Dal Niente, Michael Lewanski, Victor Lowrie Tafoya, Quatuor Bozzini, Constance Volk, Katherine Jimoh

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Joel-Francois Durand: Geister, schwebende Geister... (2020) for viola and ensemble
      • 2. La descente de l'ange (2022) for clarinet and violin
      • 3. Quatuor a cordes no. 2 "Cantar de Amigo" (2020) for string quartet: I
      • 4. II
      • 5. III
      • 6. IV-V
      • 7. Quatuor a cordes no. 1 (2005) for string quartet
      • 8. In a weightless quiet (2020) for violin
      • 9. In the Mirror Land (2005) for flute and clarinet
      • 10. Mundus Imaginalis (2015) for ensemble