Thanks For Reaching Out

Jim Bob

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: CDBREDD880

Release Date:  30 June 2023

Label:  Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5013929188037

Genres:  Indie  Indie  

  • Description

    • It’s Jim Bob’s 12th solo studio album, a stone cold masterpiece.
    • Featuring 38 minutes of pop, punk rock and devastatingly moving ballads .
    • With a second disc ‘This is My Mixtape’, a collection of cover versions recorded especially for the album.

    More topical than an episode of Newsnight, with songs about Putin (‘The Day of Reckoning’), the Taliban (‘This Is End Times’) and whoever ‘Billionaire in Space’ is about. It’s not all doom and gloom though (it’s mostly doom and gloom). ‘Sebastian’s Gone On A Ridelaong’ is a hilarious psychobilly romp and the pre- coronation written ‘Prince of Wales’ is like a pub lock-in, it’s Bowie’s ‘Kooks’ for older people.

    Recorded with the same group of musicians as his previous two chart smashing albums, ‘Pop Up Jim Bob’ (number 26) and ‘Who Do We Hate Today’ (34), with trumpet and saxophone from Terry Edwards and violin from Kate Arnold, Jim Bob has described it like he’s at a poncy wine tasting: “When I listen to this record, I get flavours of Buzzcocks and Dexys, with notes of Teardrop Explodes and Slade. It’s big and bold, bright and crispy, earthy and buttery, with a bouquet of barbed wire and an aftertaste of your life somehow never ever quite being the same again.”

    The album will be available on Vinyl, as a Double CD Set, Limited Edition Cassette and Digital.

    Jim Bob plays a thumbless handful of live dates to celebrate the album’s release

    12 July Leeds Brudenell

    13 July Nottingham Rescue Rooms

    14 July Bristol Thekla

    15 July Brighton Chalk Tickets from seetickets.com

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. 1 Thanks For Reaching Out  
      • 2. 2 The Day Of Reckoning  
      • 3. 3 Bernadette (Hasn't Found Anyone Yet)  
      • 4. 4 Toxic Man  
      • 5. 5 This Is End Times  
      • 6. 6 We Need To Try Harder (We Need To Do Better)  
      • 7. 7 Billionaire In Space  
      • 8. 8 Sebastian's Gone On A Ridealong  
      • 9. 9 goesaroundcomesaround  
      • 10. 10 Befriend The Police  
      • 11. 11 The Prince Of Wales  
      • 12. 12 Thanks for Reaching Outro 

      Disc 2

      • 1. 1. Are ‘Friends’ Electric?
      • 2. 2. New Rose
      • 3. 3. Country Comfort
      • 4. 4. Pretty in Pink
      • 5. 5. Sebastian
      • 6. 6. Labelled With Love
      • 7. 7. Geno