Thanks For The Melody

Jeff Barnhart & Spats Langham

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LACD355

Release Date:  22 September 2017

Label:  Lake

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5017116535529

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    Between them Jeff Barnhart and Spats Langham have been on more LAKE CDs than any other artists, but this is only their second album together. American pianist, singer and raconteur Jeff Barnhart tours the UK twice a year playing to sell out crowds in Jazz Clubs, theatres and festivals.

    A consummate musician Jeff is able to play in a variety of styles including Stride and Ragtime. Spats has been a member of The Temperance Seven, The Charleston Chasers, the Pasadena Roof Orchestra as well as fronting and recording with his own Hot Combination and Hot Fingers. His guitar playing owes much to the 1920s and 30s players like Eddie Lang and his banjo playing recalls Harry Reser. Both are outstanding musicians and Just Jazz Magazine summed up their previous CD as "two seasoned musicians singing and playing their hearts out on a great selection of tunes". It was a winning formula which they have used again on this album.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Thanks For The Melody
      • 2. A Beautiful Lady In Blue
      • 3. Mississippi Sandman
      • 4. Wait 'til You See "ma Cherie"
      • 5. Poor Papa
      • 6. Stompin' 'em Down
      • 7. Mary (what Are You Waiting For?)
      • 8. Dapper Dan
      • 9. Singin' In The Rain
      • 10. Delta Bound
      • 11. Just An Hour Lof Love
      • 12. Bouncin' Around
      • 13. Happy-go-lucky You (and Broken-hearted Me)
      • 14. Don't Bring Lulu/lulu's Back In Town
      • 15. How Could I Be Blue?
      • 16. Halfway To Heaven
      • 17. Ghost Of A Chance
      • 18. Temptation Rag
      • 19. Some Sweet Day
      • 20. Waiting At The End Of The Road