Audience With The Mind

House Of Love

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: UMCLP057

Release Date:  15 September 2023

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520240574

Genres:  Indie  Rock  

  • Description

    The House Of Love – guitarist and vocalist Guy Chadwick, lead guitarist Terry Bickers, bassist Chris Groothuizen and drummer Pete Evans – formed in London in 1986 - Chadwick had been around the music industry for several years, but was energised seeing The Jesus And Mary Chain, inspiring him to form the band - Signing to Creation, The House Of Love were greeted enthusiastically by the music press and their single, Shine On and self-titled debut album became indie disco classics - By 1989, the band were big news and had signed to Fontana, part of the PolyGram group. Released in July 1993 Audience Of The Mind makes a claim for being the great lost House Of Love album, slipping into the UK charts for a solitary week, and having no singles taken from it. Self-produced and recorded as a three-piece in under two weeks, Audience Of The Mind feels as fragmentary as 'The Butterfly Album' feels fulsome. There are some great moments – the moody-yet-melodic Haloes, Shining On (featuring a guest appearance from guitarist Sean O'Hagen), the eight-minute Into The Tunnel and the acoustic title track with Chadwick sounding something like an aggrieved indie Nick Drake. It is a work ripe for rediscovery.

    This re-issue replicates the original 1993 Fontana UK release with printed inner sleeve and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sweet Anatomy
      • 2. Audience With The Mind
      • 3. Haloes
      • 4. Erosion
      • 5. Call Me
      • 6. Shining On

      Side 2

      • 1. Portrait In Atlanta
      • 2. Corridors
      • 3. Hollow
      • 4. All Night Long
      • 5. Into The Tunnel
      • 6. You've Got To Feel