The Days We Spent Underground 1981-1984 5cd Clamshell Box


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 5CD

Cat No: HNEBOX191
Only 1279 left!

Release Date:  26 May 2023

Label:  Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Box Set

No of Units:  5

Barcode:  5013929929128

Genres:  Rock  Classic Rock  

  • Description

    • FOR FANS OF: Guns N’ Roses / New York Dolls
    • 5CD collection tracing the career of Finnish rock icons Hanoi Rocks.
    • Early 80s rock majesty with a sleazy edginess on three studio albums and a classic live set from 1984.

      Plus classic singles and rarities compilation 'Self Destruction Blues'.

    Although Finland is now quite rightly recognized as a highly influential and fertile source of rock and metal artists, that wasn’t the case when singer Michael Monroe met guitarist and songwriter Andy McCoy in 1979.

    Hanoi Rocks formed in Helsinki, and with a line-up completed by Nasty Suicide on guitar, Sam Yaffa on bass and Gyp Casino on drums, they released their debut ‘Bangkok Shocks, Saigon Shakes, Hanoi Rocks’ (CD1) in 1981.

    The same line-up would record follow-up, ‘Oriental Beat’ (CD2), released in 1982.

    Finding loyal fans in the UK music press, especially in the pages of Sounds and Kerrang!, the band developed a cult following, from California to Japan.

    Also released in 1982, and one of the band’s strongest sets, ‘Self Destruction Blues’ (CD3) was a compilation of singles and B-sides only previously available in the native Finland, a punk-infused glam and hard rock classic in its own right.

    By 1983, Hanoi Rocks had relocated to London, inspiring the song ‘Tooting Bec Wreck’, a track from their next album, ‘Back to Mystery City’ (CD4).

    Produced by Mott The Hoople’s Dale Griffin and Pete “Overend"” Watts, it was the first record to feature Londoner Razzle on drums.

    The album certainly had a more commercial sound than the punk inspired approach of previous albums, becoming a major influence on the hard rock and glam metal scene of the 1980s, and a big inspiration for Guns N’ Roses, who would re-issue these early Hanoi Rocks records on their own Uzi Suicide label later in the decade.

    Throughout their career, Hanoi Rocks were known as a formidable live act, as captured on 1984’s ‘All Those Wasted Years’ (CD5), which was recorded at London’s legendary Marquee Club in December 1983.

    Signing to CBS in 1984, the band looked set to break into the mainstream when their career was cruelly cut short when drummer Razzle was killed in a car crash.

  • Tracklisting

    1. Tragedy
    2. Village Girl
    3. Stop Cryin'
    4. Don't Never Leave Me
    5. Lost In The City
    6. First Timer
    7. Cheyenne
    8. 11th Street Kids
    9. Walking With My Angel
    10. Pretender
    2.1. Motorvatin'
    2.2. Don't Follow Me
    2.3. Visitor
    2.4. Teenangels Outsiders
    2.5. Sweet Home Suburbia
    2.6. M.C. Baby
    2.7. No Law Or Order
    2.8. Oriental Beat
    2.9. Devil Woman
    2.10. Lightnin' Bar Blues
    2.11. Fallen Star
    3.1. Love's An Injection
    3.2. I Want You
    3.3. Cafe Avenue
    3.4. Nothing New
    3.5. Kill City
    3.6. Self Destruction Blues
    3.7. Beer And A Cigarette
    3.8. Whispers In The Dark
    3.9. Taxi Driver
    3.10. Desperados
    3.11. Problem Child
    3.12. Dead By X-Mas
    4.1. Strange Boys Play Weird Openings
    4.2. Malibu Beach Nightmare
    4.3. Mental Beat
    4.4. Tooting Bec Wreck
    4.5. Until I Get You
    4.6. Sailing Down The Tears
    4.7. Lick Summer Love
    4.8. Beating Gets Faster
    4.9. Ice Cream Summer
    4.10. Back To Mystery City
    5.1. Pipeline
    5.2. Oriental Beat
    5.3. Back To Mystery City
    5.4. Motorvatin'
    5.5. Until I Get You
    5.6. Mental Beat
    5.7. Don't Never Leave Me
    5.8. Tragedy
    5.9. Malibu Beach Nightmare
    5.10. Visitor
    5.11. 11th Street Kids
    5.12. Taxi-Driver
    5.13. Lost In The City
    5.14. Lightning Bar Blues
    5.15. Beer And A Cigarette
    5.16. Under My Wheels
    5.17. I Feel Alright
    5.18. Train Kept A Rolling