Dido And Orfeo (After Purcell And Gluck)

Gavin Bryars

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: BCGBCD30

Release Date:  29 September 2023

Label:  GB Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442023654

Genres:  Classical  Contemporary Classical  

  • Description

    This music, for saxophone, viola, cello and piano, was written by Gavin Bryars for ballet and involves a reworking of music from Purcell's Dido and Aeneas and Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice, just as a previous collaboration, Amjad (BCGBCD10), had taken Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake and Sleeping Beauty as its source. The music originates in extracts from the two operas chosen by the choreographer - sometimes only forty seconds or less - but recomposed into longer pieces. A few of these, like Purcell's Dido's Lament, are well-known, others less so. But each piece, however much it is transformed, extended or modified, is recognisable from the original. The music was recorded live during the ballet's world tour.

    Ida Toninato: soprano, alto and baritone saxophones
    Jennifer Thiessen: viola
    Jean-Christophe Lizotte: cello
    Njo Kong Kie: piano, musical director

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Overture
      • 2. Banish Sorrow
      • 3. Ah, Belinda
      • 4. To The Hills
      • 5. Prelude For The Witches
      • 6. In Our Deep Vaulted Cell
      • 7. Haste Haste
      • 8. The Triumphing Dance
      • 9. Thanks To The Lonesome Vales
      • 10. Cupid Only
      • 11. Dance B (After Gluck: Orfeo et Euridice)
      • 12. With Drooping Wings
      • 13. Dido's Lament
      • 14. Air
      • 15. Pantomime
      • 16. Ah, Si Intorno
      • 17. Dance Of The Furies
      • 18. Ah Quale Incognito
      • 19. Dance A
      • 20. Vieni A Regni
      • 21. Sposa
      • 22. Men Tiranne
      • 23. Trio