La Hele: Missa Praeter Rerum Seriem & Works By Manchicourt, Payen & Rogier

El Leon de Oro / Peter Phillips

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA68439

Release Date:  05 April 2024

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571284392

Genres:  Classical  Choral  

  • Description

    A collection of works representative of a school of Flemish composers living in Madrid towards the end of the Renaissance and all employed by Philip II of Spain, who held composers from the Low Countries in particularly high regard.

    La Hèle's Mass, here receiving its first complete recording, is a major discovery.

    FRANCISCO GUERRERO Magnificat, Lamentations & Canciones CDA68347

    "The group's honourary director is Peter Phillips and something of the silvery polish of his ensemble The Tallis Scholars seems to have rubbed off here." - BBC Music Magazine

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Missa Praeter rerum seriem I. Kyrie
      • 2. II. Gloria
      • 3. III. Credo
      • 4. IV. Sanctus
      • 5. V. Benedictus
      • 6. VI. Agnus Dei I
      • 7. VII. Agnus Dei II
      • 8. Osculetur me I. Osculetur me osculo oris sui
      • 9. II. Trahe me post te
      • 10. Emendemus in melius
      • 11. II. Peccavimus cum patribus nostris
      • 12. Regina caeli I. Regina caeli laetare
      • 13. II. Resurrexit, sicut dixit
      • 14. Virgo prudentissima
      • 15. Cantantibus organis
      • 16. Regina caeli