Del Shannon

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: 772106

Release Date:  25 August 2023

Label:  Waxtime

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8436542019934

Genres:  Rock 'N' Roll  

  • Description

    Limited edition 180g vinyl audiophile pressing + 4 bonus tracks, high-definition premium vinyl for super fidelity.

    This quintessential edition presents Del Shannon's first album, the sensational debut Runaway with Del Shannon, originally released in the USA by the Big Top label in 1961. Featuring a number of formidable songs that stand the test of time - most of which he wrote or co-wrote - this album offers solid early-1960s rock & roll/pop confidently delivered in Shannon's richly emotional and rousing personal style.

    The opening track, "Misery", is a catchy Doc Pomus-Mort Schuman number that shows off Shannon in the same pained, romantic mode as the smash hit "Runaway", while "Day Dreams" and "His Latest Flame" are similarly yearning and successful, though the latter song fared far better a few months later in the hands of Elvis Presley.

    Shannon delivers strong vocals throughout the album, and the skilful arrangements by Bill Ramal and production by Harry Balk show a fully developed style that shines. Here you can find a virtual who's who of great sidemen from the New York City scene, such as guitarists Al Caiola and Bucky Pizzarelli, bassist Milt Hinton, drummer Joe Benjamin, and the innovative proto-electronic sound of Max Crook.

    In addition to the original LP, our special release contains 4 bonus tracks from the same period.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Misery
      • 2. Day Dreams
      • 3. His Latest Flame
      • 4. The Prom
      • 5. The Search
      • 6. Runaway
      • 7. The Snake

      Side 2

      • 1. The Wamboo
      • 2. I Wake Up Crying
      • 3. Wide, Wide World
      • 4. I'll Always Love You
      • 5. Lies
      • 6. He Doesn't Care
      • 7. Jody
      • 8. Little Town Flirt
      • 9. Hats Off To Larry (Sterio Version)