Ice Breaking

Dag Arnesen Trio

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LOS2962

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  26 July 2024

Label:  Losen Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  7090025832963

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    With 'Ice Breaking', Norwegian pianist and composer Dag Arnesen invites listeners on a sonic odyssey, from introspective ballads to upbeat rhythms, each track offering a glimpse into his ever-evolving musical landscape. 'Ice Breaking' is an album where Dag Arnesen not only breaks the frozen barriers of convention but also delivers a fresh cascade of musical expression with listeners invited to traverse the landscapes of his creativity.

    With all but two tracks freshly penned, the album serves as a testament to his enduring commitment to pushing the boundaries of his craft and his evolution as both performer and composer, all of which are ably supported here by bassist Magne Thormodsaeter (known widely from releases and collaborations with Terje Rypdal, Karin Krog, and John Surman), and award-winning percussionist/composer Oyvind Skarbo, associate Professor at Grieg Academy, Bergan, and a driving force on the Norwegian improvisation music scene.

    Dag feels that whereas melodies have traditionally been a focal point of his work, he embraces a more eclectic approach on this album, allowing rhythm and harmony to take centre stage in certain pieces. Tracks like A New One highlight his melodic sensibilities, while After Dinner shifts the focus to intricate chord progressions, highlighting the depth of his compositional prowess.

    Dag Arnesen - piano Magne Thormodsaether - bass Oyvind Skarbo drums

    All compositions by Dag S. Arnesen

    Recorded November 19-21, 2023, by Davide Bertolini at Griegakademiet Studio, Bergen, Norway

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. A New One
      • 2. Ice Breaking
      • 3. Sarah
      • 4. That's OK
      • 5. Podstrana
      • 6. Bim Bam Bom
      • 7. After Dinner
      • 8. Jumping Around
      • 9. A Special Memory