Amorosi Pensieri - Songs For The Habsburg Court By Philippe De Monte, Jean Guyot, Jacobus Vaet & Jacob Regnart


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA68053
Only 298 left!

Release Date:  01 June 2014

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571280530

Genres:  Classical  Early Music  

  • Description

    A new departure for the wonderful all-male vocal ensemble Cinquecento.

    They turn to the secular music?generally much less well-known?of the Renaissance masters Philippe de Monte, Jacobus Vaet and Jacob Regnart whose sacred music they have explored so successfully in previous recordings for Hyperion.

    Also included are six chansons by Jean Guyot de Ch?telet (his name is sometimes Latinized to ?Castileti?).

    This collection is both historically fascinating and stunningly performed.

    The music is beautiful and sensuous, with the polyphonic arts familiar from sacred works of this period now put to the service of earthly emotions.

    An expressively melancholic vein pervades many of these works, and one can see them as a precursor to Monteverdi?s madrigals.

  • Tracklisting

    1. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Amorosi pensieri [1'48]
    2. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Ombra son io [3'47]
    3. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Con che soavita [2'30]
    4. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Anima dolorosa [2'25]
    5. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | O dolci sguardi [3'24]
    6. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Que me servent mes vers [2'40]
    7. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Susanne un jour [2'09]
    8. PHILIPPE DE MONTE | Sortez regretz [2'11]
    9. JEAN GUYOT | En lieux desbatz massault melancolie [2'23]
    10. JEAN GUYOT | Je suis amoureux dune fille [1'20]
    11. JEAN GUYOT | Vous estes si doulce et benigne [2'08]
    12. JEAN GUYOT | Larbre damour ung fruict damaritude [2'40]
    13. JEAN GUYOT | Vous perdez temps de me dire mal delle [3'06]
    14. JEAN GUYOT | Tel en mesdict qui pour soy la desire [2'53]
    15. <b>JACOBUS VAET |</b> Amour leal [2'00]
    16. <b>JACOBUS VAET |</b> Sans vous ne puis [1'34]
    17. <b>JACOBUS VAET |</b> En lombre dung buissonet [1'31]
    18. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b>Ach weh der Zeit, die ich verzert [3'46]
    19. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Ein Lieb nit mehr hat [2'39]
    20. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Venus du und dein Kind [3'07]
    21. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Du hast mich sollen nemen [3'02]
    22. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Chi mi consolera [2'15]
    23. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Amor, che debbo fare [2'02]
    24. <b>JACOB REGNART |</b> Vola vola pensier [1'40]