The Complete Decca Sessions 1954-1955

Chris Barber

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: LACD142

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  07 December 2009

Label:  Lake

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5017116514227

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    Reissue of the first recordings by a legend of British Jazz. July 1954 saw the creation of a British Jazz phenomenon, the formation of Chris Barber's Jazz Band. 55 years later that band is still going strong. This double CD for the price of one includes some of the first records made by the band and reveal it to be a very polished, assured unit even at that early stage. As an aside two tracks were cut at that first session by the band's banjo player, Lonnie Donegan. Two years later they were issued at a single and 'Rock Island Line' sparked the whole Skiffle craze. The popular Blues singer, Ottilie Patterson made her debut at the Royal Festival Hall in 1955 and recordings from the concert are on disc two. The Barber Band has always been the most consistent seller of recordings of any of the UK Trad bands. This is a reissue and has proven to be Lake Records best selling album to date

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bobby Shaftoe
      • 2. Chimes Blues
      • 3. The Martinique
      • 4. New Orleans Blues
      • 5. Merry Down Rag
      • 6. Stevedore Stomp
      • 7. Nobody Knows You When You're Down & Out
      • 8. Weeping Willow Blues
      • 9. Rock Island Line
      • 10. John Henry
      • 11. Nobody's Child
      • 12. Wabash Cannonball.

      Disc 2

      • 1. Lord, Lord, Lord
      • 2. Merry Down Blues
      • 3. Skokiaan
      • 4. I'd Love It
      • 5. Storyville Blues
      • 6. It's Tight Like That
      • 7. Bury My Body
      • 8. Diggin' My Potatoes
      • 9. Ice Cream
      • 10. Oh Didn't He Ramble
      • 11. The Girls Go Crazy
      • 12. I Never Knew Just What A Girl Could Do
      • 13. St. Louis Blues
      • 14. I Hate A Man Like You
      • 15. Salutation March
      • 16. Reckless Blues
      • 17. The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise