Happy Holiday

Billie Holiday

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: JASCD405

Release Date:  16 August 2004

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  604988040524

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    It is inevitable that every account of Billie Holiday's life focuses on the prolonged addiction to drink and drugs that culminated in her premature death at the age of 44 on the 17th July, 1959. This compilation, however, is entitled "Happy Holiday" and thus attempts to concentrate on the upbeat side of her career.

    Having said that, although many of the songs included here are upbeat musically, lyrically or both, Billie's voice is so plaintive and her phrasing and melodic invention so unique that even seemingly 'happy' songs often sound wistful and melancholic. Several songs whose lyrical content would seem to qualify them as 'happy' have been omitted simply because of Billie's delivery. Nevertheless, Billie handles the bitter-sweet comedy of numbers such as "A Fine Romance", "Let's Call The Whole Thing Off" and "My Sweet Hunk O' Trash" (in a duet with Louis Armstrong) with great style and humour, justifying record producer and talent scout John Hammond's description of her: "She was not a blues singer, but she sang popular songs in a manner that made them completely her own. She had an uncanny ear, an excellent memory for lyrics, and she sang with an exquisite sense of phrasing. She always loved Armstrong's sound and it is not too much to say that she sang the way he played horn. Further, she was absolutely beautiful, with a look and a bearing that were, indeed, Lady-like and never deserted her, even in the degraded final years."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Let's Do It
      • 2. Having Myself A Time
      • 3. T'ain't Nobody's Business If I Do
      • 4. Miss Brown To You
      • 5. Nice Work If You Can Get It
      • 6. Pennies From Heaven
      • 7. Laughing At Life
      • 8. Getting Some Fun Out Of Life
      • 9. Things Are Looking Up
      • 10. Me, Myself And I
      • 11. I've Got A Date With A Dream
      • 12. My Sweet Hunk O' Trash
      • 13. Crazy He Calls Me
      • 14. Yankee Doodle Never Went To Town
      • 15. Eeny Meeny Miney Mo
      • 16. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
      • 17. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
      • 18. The Mood That I'm In
      • 19. Tenderly
      • 20. Life Begins When You're In Love
      • 21. Them There Eyes
      • 22. I Wished On The Moon
      • 23. These 'N' That 'N' Those
      • 24. It's Too Hot For Words
      • 25. Swing, Brother, Swing
      • 26. Spreadin' Rhythm Around

      Disc 2

      • 1. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
      • 2. Now They Call It Swing
      • 3. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
      • 4. What A Night, What A Moon, What A Girl
      • 5. You Showed Me The Way
      • 6. Yours And Mine
      • 7. Easy Living
      • 8. He's Funny That Way
      • 9. When You're Smiling
      • 10. Back In Your Own Backyard
      • 11. Here It Is Tomorrow Again
      • 12. Romance In The Dark
      • 13. Mandy Is Two
      • 14. You're My Thrill
      • 15. A Fine Romance
      • 16. One, Two, Button Your Shoe
      • 17. With Thee I Swing
      • 18. Say It With A Kiss
      • 19. You're So Desirable
      • 20. Sugar
      • 21. Our Love Is Different
      • 22. You're A Lucky Guy
      • 23. Time On My Hands
      • 24. I'm Pulling Through
      • 25. Practice Makes Perfect
      • 26. I Hear Music