Too Hot To Sleep / Flying High On Your Love


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SBIRD0022CD

Release Date:  07 January 2022

Label:  Superbird / Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5013929882225

Genres:  R&B  

  • Description


    • Two consecutively released albums marking the second coming of The Bar-Kays in 1976 and 1977
    • Featuring the Southern Funk classic ‘Too Hot To Stop’, which was closely followed 12 months later by the masterful ‘Flying High On Your Love’
    • Featuring the band’s first lead vocalist Larry Dodson and his unique vocals plus James Alexander’s cranked to the max bass as the new Bar-Kays sound, with no other pretensions than aiming straight for the dance floor via a series of funk workouts that set the template for many of the groups that followed during the late ‘70s.

    The original group’s first single ‘Soul Finger’ had become an instant classic and international hit which is still popular today.

    Stax’s top artist, Otis Redding chose the band to be his regular road musicians a decision that ended in tragedy on December 10th 1967 when Redding, King, Caldwell, Jones and Cunningham all perished when their private plane crashed. Only Ben Cauley survived and James Alexander had not boarded the flight.

    Despite this tragedy Cauley and Alexander with Allen Jones helped reform the group which culminated in their work with Isaac Hayes on his pioneering 1969 album, ‘Hot Buttered Soul’.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Too Hot To Stop Pt. 1
      • 2. Cozy
      • 3. Bang Bang (Stick Em Up)
      • 4. Spellbound
      • 5. Shake Your Rump To The Funk
      • 6. You Re So Sexy
      • 7. Summer Of Our Love
      • 8. Whitehouseorgy
      • 9. Shut The Funk Up
      • 10. Standing On The Outside
      • 11. .Woman Of The Night
      • 12. Whatever It Is
      • 13. Can T Keep My Hands Off You
      • 14. Let S Have Some Fun
      • 15. Attitudes
      • 16. You Can't Run Away
      • 17. Flying High On Your Love

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed