Trace Of Lament

Audun Sandvik (Cello); Norwegian Radio Orchestra; Norwegian Chamber Orchestra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LWC1234

Release Date:  13 May 2022

Label:  Lawo

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  7090020182568

Genres:  Classical  Contemporary Classical  

  • Description

    "The music on this CD release has been written by composers who often work within the audiovisual medium.

    When working on their creations, they are in dialogue with a starting point, a story, an expression, their surroundings, and an emotion – a series of images and actions that require interaction. This is a premise which fascinates me.

    As a performer, I also operate with a great deal of interaction. I address an audience and I take on suggestions and the wishes of my fellow musicians.

    We form an expression together from each from our own standpoints, with our own bodies, and each with our own personality. We acquire material by digging from that quarry. Perhaps it could be said that our goal is, in principle, to create openings where what we play creates meaning for those who listen and where our interpretation can be perceived as meaningful.

    So it makes sense for me that this release is a collection of music by composers who quite specifically relate to music through dialogue. At the same time, I wanted the composers to concentrate on the cello as a solo instrument and make music that at least in this context does not necessarily conform to a cinematic expression.

    Gaute Storaas, Henrik Skram and Ginge Anvik all have differing approaches, and the processes I have been through with them have their contrasts. What all three composers want is that the music should work, for the cello, for the ensemble and for the listeners.

    I hope with this perspective that this release will be a door-opener for new listeners of contemporary music. Most of all though I am proud to be able to present five new works which will resonate with me for a long time.

    Audun Sandvik (put in writing by Ida Habbestad)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Ginge Anvik: Ostinat
      • 2. Gaute Storaas: Ex Alia Parte: I
      • 3. II
      • 4. III
      • 5. Henrik Skram: The Dinner
      • 6. Emerge
      • 7. Gaute Storaas: A Nordic Year